ASCÈTE stream ANTIQ debut at Atmospheric Black Metal Albums

Today, rural black metal ruffians Ascète stream the entirety of their highly anticipated debut album, Calamites & les Calamités, at the Atmospheric Black Metal Albums YouTube channel. Set for international release on May 28th via Antiq, hear Ascète‘s Calamites & les Calamités in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Created by Torve and Patrie Moine towards the end of 2015, then joined by Olematus on bass and Ancien Temps on drums, Ascète is a band whose atmosphere is filled by the soil where it grew: Black Périgord, or its local name of Peirigòrd Nègre, in South West France. It embodies the grim face of Périgord’s ruined minor landmarks and its dark and strange folklore. Musically, Ascète creates a countryside black metal with a punk spirit, of which the music is carried by magnificent lines of melodic guitars and bass, drowning the whole towards cavernous dark depths of music, through which some epic lights still shine.

Calamites & les Calamités is the first full-length of Ascète. Through a rusty black metal, joyfully old, Ascète gives its vision of a forgotten and forlorn countryside, where the small, poor people of the rural lands slowly die in the shadow of indifference of big cities’ administrations. Melodic black metal with punk/Oi! influences, Calamites & les Calamités haunts us in ridiculously different Périgord legends, carried by the decadent proclamations howled in an almost ruined, out-of-age barn… (vocals were actually recorded there). The magnificent work on guitars and sound will carry you to a forgotten countryside, where an aging population, almost feral and animal-looking, discretely and suspiciously wanders in its misery among the remains of minor historical landmark monuments, which return to Earth, too: slower, maybe, but in the same definitive manner.

Antiq is a label dedicated to the fully coherent concept of making music through sound, image, video, and attitude. They have been putting their entire existence into it since 2009. Over the years, Antiq have been identified as producers of not only perfectly coherent lyrics and themes through music, but also conceptual art and, of course, the manufacturing of beautiful objects. The label tries as much as it can to work with French creators, and if possible, with the smallest and most serious structures.

In the meantime, stream Calamites & les Calamités in its entirety exclusively HERE, courtesy of the Atmospheric Black Metal Albums YouTube channel. Cover artwork, courtesy of LaurineM (Borie de la Combe Noire), and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Ascète’s Calamites & les Calamités
1. Les Causses s’en Gaussent [6:44]
2. Danse de la Sénescence [6:48]
3. Courroux du Lébérou [6:49]
4. Sorlodais Huroux [5:32]
5. Héritiers de l’Austérité [1:59]
6. La Lanterne du Mort [8:37]
7. Calamites & les Calamités [10:07]


Related posts

ASCÈTE premiere new track at


ASCÈTE set release date for ANTIQ debut, reveal trailer


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.