COGNITIVE release new video; announce album

‘ENIAC’ video streaming now

Malevolent Thoughts of a Hastened Extinction album out 16th July via Unique Leader

New Jersey based brutal death metal act Cognitive return with new single and stunning video ‘ENIAC’, and have announced the release of fourth album Malevolent Thoughts of a Hastened Extinction, out 16th July via Unique Leader.

Watch ‘ENIAC’ here:

Stream ‘ENIAC’ and pre-save Malevolent Thoughts of a Hastened Extinction here:

Guitarist Rob Wharton commented “‘ENIAC’ was one of the first songs written for the new album, and when it was completed we instantly were like this has to be a single. The name ‘ENIAC’ comes from the first computer, and musically this song we felt has a lot of new elements that are showcased on this album, from some more tech-laden grooves, big chord sections, a ripper solo, and some catchy vocal patterns. And Zen-Beast did an amazing job of making this video come to life to put a cherry on top. We hope you enjoy!”

Cognitive formed in 2011 with the intent to create bone shattering death metal while blending in abstract dissonant melodies and time signatures, creating a totally fresh death metal journey.

After releasing an EP and full length, Cognitive signed to Unique Leader Records in 2016 and released second album Deformity, which tells the tale of their home state’s own legend about the Jersey Devil.

Ramping up their tour schedule, the band continued to write and push themselves within the genre with technicality, speed, brutality, and songwriting, which came to shine through even more on the 2018 release Matricide, which displayed more focused effort while increasing speed and technicality even more. With an even more increased tour schedule, the band supported with the likes of Fit for an Autopsy, Rivers of Nihil, Through the Eyes of the Dead, Waking the Cadaver, Vulvodynia, Kraanium,Abiotic, Lorna shore, Wormed, Artificial Brain and more, along with appearances at Maryland Deathfest, a European tour including Deathfeast Open Air, Iceland, and Puerto Rico, Cognitive has become a touring machine with one goal in mind, always moving forward.

Now with the release of their new album Malevolent Thoughts of a Hastened  Extinction, the band display more diversity and song writing than ever, and prove yet again they are never scared to explore new concepts musically and explore new territory. 


01 – Eniac
02 – The Maw
03 – Arterial Red
04 – From the Depths
05 – Oroborous
06 – To Feed the Worms
07 – Malevolent Thoughts
08 – Tearing Tendon From Bone
09 – Destitute
10 – Of a Hastened Extinction

Cognitive are:
Vocals – Shane Jost
Lead guitar – Harry Lannon
Guitar – Rob Whartone
Bass – Tyler Capone-Vitale
Drums – AJ Viana 

Purchase Malevolent Thoughts of a Hastened Extinction here:

More info:

Related posts

Tech Death Metallers COGNITIVE release new single/video ‘To Feed The Worms’


COGNITIVE release new single / video ‘Fragmented Perception’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.