Death/doom band THE SLOW DEATH announce new album on Transcending Obscurity

The Slow Death from Australia have a unique take on doom/death metal and it’s evident right from the moment you listen to the first notes of the singer who is also responsible for creating the album artwork and other paintings that are part of this thematic release. Her unconventional yet highly appealing vocals are alternated with growls to go with similarly fluctuating music on this record here, which encompasses the emotional as well as the heavier aspect of this style of music. Check out one of the songs on Bandcamp or YouTube as the promo hits your inbox via Haulix. Thank you so much for your time and continued interest. – Kunal C. (label owner)

The Slow Death (Australia) – Siege (August 27th, 2021)

Genre – Doom/Death Metal
Release Date – August 27th, 2021
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records

For fans of – Mournful Congregation, Esoteric, Sepulcros, Atramentus, Disembowelment, Murkrat, Evoken, Illimitable Dolor

The Slow Death are an exceptional band that straddles the emotive as well as heavier aspect of atmospheric death/doom metal. There are eerie, haunting female vocals alternated with abysmally low growls to go with similarly undulating music, encompassing a terrific range of heart-rending expression. Members of veteran bands such as Illimitable DolorHorrisonous, ex-Mournful Congregation ensure that the music remains engaging, even during the sparser, atmospheric parts, which invariably give way to soul-piercing solos or dread-inducing chugging parts. This is a staggering interpretation of the double-edged style with everything remaining all too palpable, as it hurtles you through a harrowing, emotional roller-coaster ride through four epochal tracks averaging over 15 minutes, at the end of which you’ll emerge cleansed, purged, feeling exhausted but somehow lighter. It’s a microcosm of the events that are bound to unfold in everyone’s life, and The Slow Death couldn’t express the inevitable moments of grief and triumph any better through their emotionally-charged music. Six years in the making, ‘Siege’ is sure to be remembered as one of the best albums in the style.

Line up –
Mandy Andresen (ex-MurkratCrone) – Vocals and Keyboards
Stuart Prickett (HorrisonousIllimitable Dolor) – Guitars and Keyboards
Yonn McLaughlin (Temple NightsideHorrisonousIllimitable DolorNazxul) – Drums
Dan Garcia (HorrisonousIllimitableDolor) – Bass
Gamaliel (ex-Oracle of the Void) – Vocals

Artworks by Mandy Andresen

Track listing –

1. Tyranny
2. Famine
3. Pestilence
4. Ascent of the Flames 

Official Video Stream

The Slow Death Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Site

Transcending Obscurity Official YouTube Channel

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

The Slow Death Facebook

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.