Swedish death metal entity EYE OF PURGATORY unleash new song via No Clean Singing

The new Eye of Purgatory release has met with some great reception in the press and it’s probably because their style of music sounds comparatively refreshing and sincere, despite not attempting to do something groundbreakingly original. The balance of rare, almost forgotten Edge of Sanity-esque melodies and Swedish HM-2 sound is impeccable. No Clean Singing premiered a fantastic new track AT THIS LINK. Excerpt – 

“a high-energy track that moves through a progression of riffs, each of them accompanied by well-crafted bass and drum patterns that help mark the changes, while also triggering reflexive movement in the listener”


– “a beastly riff-machine” – The Metal Wanderlust (US)

– “one of death metal’s most talented icons” – The Killchain (UK)

-“a great, solid release” – Metal-Roos (Germany)

– “One of the finer bastions of Swedish death metal” –  Metal Bite (US) 9/10

– “the first titanic work of its style that 2021 will see released” – Head-Banger Reviews (US)

– “has genuine staying power” – No Clean Singing (US)

-“Great songs, great production and great artwork” – Time For Metal 8.5/10 

-“one of his best works to date under the name EYE OF PURGATORY”- (Germany) 8/10

– “I cannot find fault with Eye Of Purgatory‘s latest effort” – Metal Epidemic 

– “Fast, brutal and groovy” – MMH Radio (UK)

– “damn impressive” – Metal Temple (Greece) 8/10

– “intensely memorable” – The Metal Observer (Canada) 8/10

– “fast and punchy” – RTMB Music (Mexico)

– “mind-blowing” – Dioses de Metal (Spain)

Eye of Purgatory (Sweden/US) – The Lighthouse (June 18th, 2021)

Genre – Death Metal
Release Date – June 18th, 2021
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records

For fans of – Edge of Sanity, Revolting, Rogga Johansson, early Tiamat, early Cemetary, Dismember, Unleashed, Entombed, Paganizer

Swedish death metal mastermind Rogga Johansson has displayed a penchant for infusing classic style melodies in his kind of death metal which is most evident in his eponymous band and also to an extent in Revolting and Paganizer. It’s reminiscent of the timeless bands such as Edge of SanityDesultory, early Cemetary, early TiamatPan.Thy.Monium and others where they added a dimension without diluting the heaviness. Rogga’s bands are known to be fast and hard-hitting and such melodic depth counterbalances the pummelling demeanour and adds rare emotive appeal. The music straddles the conventional HM-2 death metal and the more melodic side of it brilliantly, keeping it tasteful and not oversaturating it with too much of either. Teaming up with members of Ribspreader and Venom Inc., he brings to life his vision of classic Swedish death metal with its inherent crunchy heaviness and soul-ripping melodies. Albums like these are extremely rare in these times especially ones with genuine emotive quality and conviction.

Line up –
Rogga Johansson (PaganizerRevolting) – Vocals, Guitars
Taylor Nordberg (Ribspreader) – Drums, Lead Guitars, Keyboards
Jeramie Kling (Venom Inc.) – Bass

Artwork by Juanjo Castellano (The Black Dahlia Murder)
Logo by Christophe Szpajdel (Rogga Johansson)
Layout by Francesco Gemelli (Master)

Track listing –

1. And From The Fog…
2. The Lighthouse
3. Fornever To Awaken
4. Carved In A Stone Bleeding
5. Pieces Of A Fading World
6. They Silently Await
7. Where Slowly Life Fades
8. Rotting Pathways
9. Rebirther

Official Video

Official Video Stream

Eye of Purgatory Bandcamp

Related posts

Swedish death metal sensation EYE OF PURGATORY reveal details on their latest full length


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More