Metal Injection Fires Up Early Stream of CATHEXIS Album ‘Untethered Abyss’

Metal Injection has premiered the forthcoming debut album from Texas Death Metallers CATHEXIS. Stream Untethered Abyss at:

CATHEXIS will release debut album Untethered Abyss June 25 on CD, vinyl, and digital formats via Willowtip Records. Pre-orders are available via Bandcamp and Willowtip Records.

Untethered Abyss is the culmination of six years of painstaking songwriting and a carefully selected cast of international talent amassed to bring forward a finely tuned and unrelenting piece of modern death metal.

Untethered Abyss is eight tracks of tightly focused death metal with a production that captures the humanity and unfiltered energy each musician displays in every performance. The band’s focus on holistic songwriting seeks to create naturally flowing and memorable tracks where every riff’s place within the song is carefully considered to maintain internal consistency and create meaningful arcs within the music, rather than meander through detached ideas.

CATHEXIS strives to make unique and forward thinking death metal that pays tribute to the genres basest and most satisfying elements.

FFO: Gorguts, Necrophagist, Artificial Brain, Baring Teeth, Sunless

“Untethered Abyss is a damn good album with plenty of staying power.”
– Metal Injection

“These Texans have used six years of refining and fine-tuning well, and it’s made ‘intelligent’ music remarkably easy to understand.”
– No Clean Singing

“Cathexis make sure to not disappoint, as across eight slamming efforts they rip, tear and shred their way through every soft brain they come across. Don’t sleep on this one.” (9/10)
– Games, Brrraaains & A Head-Banging Life

“The songwriting is impeccable, the atmosphere is on point, and the riffs, well – they’re fuckin’ sick.” (8.5/10)
– Noob Heavy

“Eight songs of Technical Death Metal with chaotic and dissonant sonorities. Musicians are all skilled, and they easily create a dissonant tornado while offering coherent and violent riffs.” (88/100)
– Acta Infernalis

“Untethered Abyss must be appreciated once and for all.” (8.5/10)
– World of Metal

Track Listing:

  1. Horizonless Realm of Mechanical Retribution
  2. Given to the Colony
  3. Harrowing Manifestation
  4. Red Hook
  5. Library of Babel
  6. Mortuus in Perpetuum
  7. Isolated Malevolence
  8. Reanimated Kin

Album Credits:

Drums, Vocals recorded by Julian Gargiulo of The Machine Shop | Dripping Springs, USA

Reamping, Mixing by Jeanne Strieder of Magma Art & Sound | Berlin, Germany

Mastering by Colin Marston of Menegroth, The Thousand Caves | Queens, USA

Cover Painting by Rodrigo Pereira Salvatierra of Absolute.Desert_Art | Calama, Chile

Album Layout by Erik Bredthauer of Necro Blanca Photography | Leander, USA

Portraits by Chris Vickroy | New Braunfels, USA


Ian Bishop: Vocals
Chris Hillam: Guitar Left
Sam Kang: Guitar Right
Oscar Martinez: Bass
Felix Garza III: Drums

Related posts

Texas Death Metallers CATHEXIS Premiere New Song: “Given to the Colony”


Texas Death Metal Squad CATHEXIS Signs to Willowtip / Debut Album Out June 25


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More