Dissonant black metal band NORSE emerge with their new full length on Transcending Obscurity

Australian dissonant black metal band Norse are back with their highly anticipated new full length titled ‘Ascetic’. They’ve honed their sound even more and you can expect the same sharp, dissonant and scathing black metal here but with better focus and intensity. Two of the tracks are streaming currently which you can check out on the label’s Bandcamp page HERE. The YouTube video can be found HERE. This goes very well with other similar dissonant and experimental releases on the label in this period such as VeilburnerReplicantDiskord and Crypts of Despair. Thanks very much for the support! – Kunal C. (label owner)

Norse (Australia) – Ascetic (October 8th, 2021)

Genre – Dissonant Black Metal
Release Date – October 8th, 2021
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records

For fans of – Ulcerate, Deathspell Omega, Thorns, Revulsion, Gorguts, Replicant

 Dissonant black metal entity Norse have forged a unique sound over the years playing intense, bleak and somewhat futuristic music which they’ve only honed with each subsequent album. They play calculated, atonal yet highly rhythmic music delivered with machine-like precision which sounds markedly different and refreshing when most black metal bands are too reliant on their progenitors for laying down the framework. Never does it seem as though they’ve lost their way delving deep into the dissonant territories; Norse have a predefined trajectory even with its myriad variations and undulations. They adhere to their mutated sound which is awash with harsh, venomous vocals, adding character to the otherworldly mechanised riffing and unrelenting spasmodic waves of blasting. This long-running Australian band have created singular music that not only defies the trends but also holds its own alongside that of other similar-minded contemporaries on the label such as ReplicantVeilburnerand Crypts of Despair.

Line up –
Lyrics, Themes and Vocals – ADR
All Arrangements, Instruments and Mixing – Forge

Additional vocals and lyrics on Blight – K. Southcott
Bass written and recorded – K. Southcott

Track listing –

1. Ascetic
2. Parasite Warmongers
3. Fearless Filth Seeker
4. Accelerated Subversion
5. Radical Depression
6. Zero Insight
7. Blight
8. Useless

Official Video Stream

Norse Bandcamp

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.