COGNIZANCE announce second album, ‘Upheaval’; New single, ‘Syntheticus II – Refuge’, and music video out now

Photography credit: Nathan Francey

Leeds, UK via Graz, Austria based death metal band, COGNIZANCE have today announced their upcoming second album, Upheaval – due to be released via Prosthetic Records on September 24. Upheaval is the quintet’s sophomore full length and further expands on COGNIZANCE‘s signature sound of modern death metal, laced with undeniable groove and technical prowess. Alongside the album announcement, the band are premiering lead single Syntheticus II – Refuge with an accompanying claymation music video by Budget Blood Productions via Youtube.

Syntheticus II – Refuge will be available via all streaming services on Friday, July 9.

Pre-order Upheaval here.

Speaking on the album announcement, the bands comments: “Finally the time has come to unveil the next chapter in the COGNIZANCE discography. Upheaval pushes the envelope compared to anything we have done before as this record is more pissed, to the point and darker than 2019’s Malignant Dominion. We are very excited to share this with the world and are looking forward to our fans sharing the visceral experience of Upheaval with us.”

Of the video, the band adds: “Syntheticus II is the first offering from our new record and serves our fans a taste of the chaos to expect from UpheavalSyntheticus II stood out as the lead single because it encompasses what we’re all about; It’s fast, heavy, technical but ultimately musical and is a gateway song into the album as a body of work. Working with Budget Blood Productions we chose to do something less conventional with the video and we are extremely proud of the final product.”

Once again, COGNIZANCE recorded and self-produced the album. Guitars and bass were recorded in the scenic sleepy village of Dent in Northumberland, and engineered by guitarist Alex Baillie. The demonic voice of vocalist Henry Pryce was captured in the eerie surroundings of an urn factory. Drums were recorded overseas at Rock Studio, Austria by Sebastian Wrum, with David delivering another performance of blast beats, intricate grooves and jaw dropping fills. Upheaval was mixed and mastered by legendary Swedish producer Fredrik Nordstrom (At The Gates, Architects, Dimmu Borgir), adding the final cutting edge to the record.Following 2019’s Malignant DominionCOGNIZANCE have solidified their lineup as a five piece – welcoming second guitarist, Apostolis “Yage” Karydis, adding an extra dimension to their sound. The last year also saw long-time drummer David Diepold sharing duties with German tech-death kings Obscura. On Upheaval, COGNIZANCE once again demonstrates that speed and technicality can fully embrace groove and hooks to compelling effect.

Upheaval tracklist:

1. Hymns
2. Drifting (R)evolution
3. Decaying Gods
4. Oneiric
5. The Mouth Which Cannot Speak
6. Forbidden Alchemy
7. Syntheticus I – Atrophy
8. Syntheticus II – Refuge
9. Fever Dream
10. Aeon Sickness

Henry Pryce – Vocals
Alex Baillie – Guitars
David Diepold – Drums
Chris Binns – Bass
Apostolis “Yage” Karydis – Guitars

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.