THE TROOPS OF DOOM – Brazilian Death Metal Unit To Release The Absence Of Light EP Featuring Guest Appearances By Members Of Possessed, Borknagar, And More

Brazilian death metal unit THE TROOPS OF DOOM will unleash their The Absence Of Light EP this September!

Featuring guitarist Jairo “Tormentor” Guedz, a former member of Sepultura’s original lineup playing author and co-author to classic Sep albums Bestial Devastation and Morbid Visions, alongside bassist/vocalist Alex Kafer (Enterro, Explicit Hate, ex-Necromancer), drummer Alexandre Oliveira (Southern Blacklist, Raising Conviction), and guitarist Marcelo Vasco (Patria, Mysteriis, acclaimed graphic artist for the likes of Slayer, Kreator, Machine Head, Soulfly, and Hatebreed), the band focuses on revisiting the essence of ‘80s-style death metal, exploring a more primitive sound that takes listeners back to that era, while remaining fresh, genuine, and ferociously heavy.

THE TROOPS OF DOOM released their debut EP, The Rise Of Heresy, worldwide in October 2020. Despite its brevity, the offering reaped critical accolades from fans and media alike with Decibel Magazine hailing the band’s distinctly, “mean, mid-paced death metal that cycles between foreboding and downright groovy,” adding, “when the grooves hit, it’s hard not to bang your head.” Bravewords lauded, “a demonic thrash attack with killer riffing and bombastic drum work,” while BrooklynVegan noted, “The band intentionally hearken back to the evil, thrashy, proto-death metal sounds of early Sepultura (and to Sepultura’s own influences from back then, like Celtic Frost), and [they] do it with extreme conviction.”

A conceptual work inspired by the book Leviathan, from 17th century English philosopher Thomas Hobbes, The Absence Of Light was mixed and mastered by Øystein G. Brun (Borknagar) at Crosound Studio in Norway features the legendary Jeff Becerra of Possessed sharing vocals on the track “The Monarch,” Lars Nedland of Borknagar, Solefald, and White Void on bass on the first three tracks, and Dave Deville conducting the orchestral introduction. The EP includes a version of Sepultura classic “Antichrist” mixed by Leonardo Pagani at LP Mobile Studio in Brazil, in addition to the demo version of “The Devil’s Tail” and “The Monarch.” It all comes housed in the arresting cover art of Brazilian painter Maramgoni. With the world still uncertain in these pandemic times and the band being forced to postpone their European tour — and consequently their full album — to 2022, EP serves a bridge piece to the impending LP.

The Absence Of Light will see release this September digitally via Nuclear Blast digital subsidiary Blood Blast, on CD via Voice Music in Brazil, Metalized Records in Mexico, and Hellven Records in Portugal, on vinyl via Anomalia Distro in Brazi and Hellven Records in Portugal, and on cassette by Repulsive Echo Records in Greece. A street date and preorders will be announced in the days to come. In the meantime, view video teasers featuring Jeff Becerra and Lars Nedland below.

The Absence Of Light EP Track Listing:
1. Introduction – The Absence Of Light
2. Act I – The Devil’s Tail
3. Act II – The Monarch feat. Jeff Becerra (Possessed)
Bonus Tracks:
4. Antichrist (Sepultura)
5. The Devil’s Tail (Demo Version)
6. The Monarch (Demo Version)

Jairo “Tormentor” Guedz – guitar
Alex Kafer – bass, vocals
Marcelo Vasco – guitar
Alexandre Oliveira – drums

Related posts

THE TROOPS OF DOOM Premiere Exclusive Album Stream! “A Mass To The Grotesque” Out This Friday On Alma Mater Records!


Brazilian Death Metal Frontrunners THE TROOPS OF DOOM Unleash New Video Single “Dawn Of Mephisto”, Of Upcoming Album “A Mass To The Grotesque”!


Brazilian Death Metal Super-Group THE TROOPS OF DOOM Unleashes First Video Single Of Upcoming Album “A Mass To The Grotesque”!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More