The Obelisk premieres epic track of the unique death/doom band THE SLOW DEATH

The Slow Death’s style is different from the usual death/doom metal fare. Here female vocals are employed to provide a stunning contrast as the music undulates gracefully with the dreamy, doomier passages as well as the faster death metal rumbling. All in all, it’s a fascinating listen. The Obelisk premiered another outstanding track AT THIS LINK and had this to say about it –

“executed with such fluidity and depressive grace that it’s nothing less than a triumph”


-“‘Siege’ is a masterpiece, again establishing Transcending Obscurity as the BEST label to find this kind of music” – The Killchain Blog (UK)

-“This is a high mark release for doom and I can’t see any reason why a fan would find this disappointing” –Metal Temple (Greece) 9/10

-“destined to be hailed as one of the year’s best.” –Head Bangers Reviews (U.S)

-“an impeccably executed album, risky compositions but highly admired” – Dioses Del Metal (Spain)

– “fantastic stuff… top marks” –Third Eye Cinema (US)

The Slow Death (Australia) – Siege (August 27th, 2021)

Genre – Doom/Death Metal
Release Date – August 27th, 2021
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records

For fans of – Mournful Congregation, Esoteric, Sepulcros, Atramentus, Disembowelment, Murkrat, Evoken, Illimitable Dolor

The Slow Death are an exceptional band that straddles the emotive as well as heavier aspect of atmospheric death/doom metal. There are eerie, haunting female vocals alternated with abysmally low growls to go with similarly undulating music, encompassing a terrific range of heart-rending expression. Members of veteran bands such as Illimitable DolorHorrisonous, ex-Mournful Congregation ensure that the music remains engaging, even during the sparser, atmospheric parts, which invariably give way to soul-piercing solos or dread-inducing chugging parts. This is a staggering interpretation of the double-edged style with everything remaining all too palpable, as it hurtles you through a harrowing, emotional roller-coaster ride through four epochal tracks averaging over 15 minutes, at the end of which you’ll emerge cleansed, purged, feeling exhausted but somehow lighter. It’s a microcosm of the events that are bound to unfold in everyone’s life, and The Slow Death couldn’t express the inevitable moments of grief and triumph any better through their emotionally-charged music. Six years in the making, ‘Siege’ is sure to be remembered as one of the best albums in the style.

Line up –
Mandy Andresen (ex-MurkratCrone) – Vocals and Keyboards
Stuart Prickett (HorrisonousIllimitable Dolor) – Guitars and Keyboards
Yonn McLaughlin (Temple NightsideHorrisonousIllimitable DolorNazxul) – Drums
Dan Garcia (HorrisonousIllimitableDolor) – Bass
Gamaliel (ex-Oracle of the Void) – Vocals

Artworks by Mandy Andresen

Track listing –

1. Tyranny
2. Famine
3. Pestilence
4. Ascent of the Flames 

Official Video Stream

The Slow Death Bandcamp

Related posts

Atmospheric doom/death band THE SLOW DEATH premiere new track via Invisible Oranges


Death/doom band THE SLOW DEATH announce new album on Transcending Obscurity


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More