SUCCUMB are Revitalized on their Sophomore Album, ‘XXI’

The San Francisco heavy metal act have returned with a new record due on September 24th. // Listen to the fiery new single “Okeanos” now.

“A lot of death metal promises to be ‘filthy,’ but Succumb’s lurid intensity actually merits the term.” – Stereogum

Plumbing the depths of modern death metal with primitive elegance, Succumb have returned with their sophomore release XXI.  One of the strongest up-and-coming metal bands in recent years, what sets Succumb apart from their peers is vocalist Cheri Musrasrik; the juxtaposition of death metal riffing and propulsive drums with Musrasrik’s cavernous howl and sophisticated lyrics make a unique listening experience in today’s crowded landscape.

Musrasrik cites authors and poets like Yeats, Genet and Zola as her primary lyrical influences. XXI sees an allegorical look at the elements and their related mythologies. Talks about Lilith, the Orphic poems, ocean and nature deities, Dionysus, Arthurian literature, fly agaric as soma, the cosmic egg, and the Boxer Rebellion.

On XXISuccumbset out to make an album that feels more immediate & unpredictable, with a more aggressive production and the vocals much more front & center.  Today, the group has premiered the album’s discordant first single — “Okeanos” — which is available now on all streaming platforms.

Listen to Succumb’s vicious first single “Okeanos” via Decibel Magazine (or share from YouTube here).

Artist photo by: Christian Shepherd.

XXI is titled after The World—final tarot card in the Major Arcana. Its imagery typically features a tetramorph that refers to the four directions or the four elements. Its upright meaning represents completion. Its reversal represents fixity. The album art is Stefan Thanneur’s interpretation of the album’s allegorical treatment of the elements and the alchemical union of opposites.

Succumb was formed in 2014 by a group of friends with diverse musical backgrounds who share a common love for Canadian death metal, war metal, and 1990s Napalm Death. That same year they released a demo under the name Cloak and played a handful of local shows, attracting the attention of The Flenser.  The following year they were joined by Harry Cantwell (Bosse-de-Nage, ex-Slough Feg) on drums and got to work writing their self-titled debut album.  

Recorded with Bay Area luminary Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Bosse-de-Nage, Botanist, Oathbreaker, etc.) — also at the helm for the new album XXI — Succumb released their self-titled debut album in May of 2017 and received praise from publications around the globe.  Blocland called it “one of the year’s most intriguing metal listens” and PopMatters named it one of the best metal albums of the year, citing: “Musrasrik’s insane delivery makes Succumb one of the strongest metal debuts to come out in 2017.”  The 8 new tracks that comprise XXI are sure to continue this arc of praise.

Succumb will release their strong sophomore entry on September 24th via San Francisco-based record label The Flenser.  Pre-orders are available here and more music will surface soon from Succumb.

XXI, Track List:

  1. Lilim
  2. Maenad
  3. Okeanos
  4. Smoke
  5. Graal
  6. Aither
  7. Soma
  8. 8 Trigrams

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.