New COGNIZANCE single, ‘Aeon Sickness’, premiering now

Photography credit: Nathan Francey

COGNIZANCE are today premiering their latest single, Aeon Sickness, and it’s accompanying music video via Decibel MagazineAeon Sickness is the second track to be taken from the Leeds, UK via Graz, Austria based death metal band’s forthcoming sophomore album, Upheaval – due out via Prosthetic Records on September 24. The visual showcases COGNIZANCE‘s continued sonic embrace of speed and technicality alongside groove and hooks.

Aeon Sickness will be available via all streaming services on Friday, August 6.

Pre-order Upheaval here.


Speaking on the single premiere, the bands comments: “Aeon Sickness is one of the tracks we’re most proud of from Upheaval and it came together really organically. It grooves hard, has brutal vocal hooks, colourful harmonies and plenty of Dethklok worship. Lyrically speaking, this song is about being consumed by inner thoughts that begin to distort reality.”

Similarly to 2019’s Malignant DominionCOGNIZANCE once again took to recording and self-producing their latest effort. Guitars and bass were recorded in the scenic sleepy village of Dent in Northumberland, and engineered by guitarist Alex Baillie. The demonic voice of vocalist Henry Pryce was captured in the eerie surroundings of an urn factory. Drums were recorded overseas at Rock Studio, Austria by Sebastian Wrum, with David delivering another performance of blast beats, intricate grooves and jaw dropping fills. Upheaval was mixed and mastered by legendary Swedish producer Fredrik Nordstrom (At The Gates, Architects, Dimmu Borgir), adding the final cutting edge to the record.

Since Malignant DominionCOGNIZANCE have solidified their lineup as a five piece – welcoming second guitarist, Apostolis “Yage” Karydis, adding an extra dimension to their sound. The last year also saw long-time drummer David Diepold sharing duties with German tech-death kings Obscura. On Upheaval, COGNIZANCE once again demonstrates that speed and technicality can fully embrace groove and hooks to compelling effect.

Upheaval tracklist:

1. Hymns
2. Drifting (R)evolution
3. Decaying Gods
4. Oneiric
5. The Mouth Which Cannot Speak
6. Forbidden Alchemy
7. Syntheticus I – Atrophy
8. Syntheticus II – Refuge
9. Fever Dream
10. Aeon Sickness

Henry Pryce – Vocals
Alex Baillie – Guitars
David Diepold – Drums
Chris Binns – Bass
Apostolis “Yage” Karydis – Guitars

Related posts

COGNIZANCE Streams “Crushing, Blindingly Technical” New Album, ‘Phantazein’


COGNIZANCE Premieres New Single, “A Brain Dead Memoir”


COGNIZANCE Premiere Official Video for New Single, “Shadowgraph”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More