RAVENOUS Are Serving Up Anime Videos For First Single “Die 1000 Deaths” Off Upcoming Album “Hubris”

“Hubris” Out October 22nd via Feast Beast Records (NA/EU) / Spiritual Beast (Asia)
Album guests:
Vincent ‘Jake’ Jones of Aether RealmHeinrich Yoshio of Aether RealmMathias Blad of FalconerNina Osegueda of A Sound of Thunder
The Dread Crew of Oddwood (Full Band)

Album Pre-Order Begins August 9th

L-R: Ravenous Current Line Up
Skyler Mills (Guitar) | Dave Crnkovic (Drums) | R. A. Voltaire (Vocals) | Chris Valax (Bass) | Jake Wright (Guitar)
Photo Credit – Monika Deviat

Canada’s Ravenous have announced that their third release “Hubris” is coming out this year and the first single “Die 1000 Deaths”is out now, complete with both English and Japanese animated music videos.

“Hubris” is chock full of anthemic hits and this single may be the most fist-pumping one on the album. According to the band, the aim of the track is to give listeners the drive to break their limits and fight for every shred of glory in their lives – to always strive for the apex and conquer anything that stands in their way. Ravenous share their thoughts on the album:

“Take a journey with us to an arcade tower in Japan and experience the sensory overload equivalent to a Kaiju battle in an early-2000’s anime. Die 1000 Deaths was Rav’s delirious and frantic output in the chemically imbalanced early days of the Covid-19 pandemic and underwent zero changes from its initial structure and tone. He based the lyrics off of Akuma – his favourite street fighter character – to properly represent the feeling and themes of the music. Try and stay calm as Akuma takes over your computer in the Die 1000 Deaths video.”

This song is the perfect introduction to the album as it embodies everything the band wants to represent with the album. It’s fast, busy, symphonic, and tongue-in-cheek, featuring a whirlwind of riffs and breakdowns, three guitar solos (including a guest solo by Aether Realm guitarist Heinrich Yoshio), and was also recorded entirely in Japanese as an alternate bonus version.

Fast and frantic, the song can be coined as “very anime”, clearly inspired by Japanese Power Metal and following the Eastern Hirajoshi scale. Lyrically, the song is about a murderous figure that kills his master in pursuit of ultimate power. His only goal is to finally find a foe worthy of his full strength, and his hubris will kill all in his path in that pursuit. 

“Die 1000 Deaths” is best served with a sake bomb along with a spicy bowl of ramen and will be enjoyed by fans of Dragonforce, Galneryus, and Orden Ogan.

Watch the animated music videos (English and Japanese versions) for “Die 1000 Deaths” via their premieres on Bravewords HERE.

“Hubris” will be released on October 22, 2021 via Feast Beast Records for North America plus Europe and for Asia via Spiritual Beast with exclusive bonus tracks.

The album was produced by Ravenous with mixing and mastering done by Fredrik Nordström (In Flames, Opeth, Firewind) along with album guests Vincent ‘Jake’ Jones of Aether Realm, Heinrich Yoshio of Aether Realm, Mathias Blad of Falconer, Nina Osegueda of A Sound of Thunder, The Dread Crew of Oddwood (Full Band).

Album pre-order begins August 9th at

Album Trailer –

Track Listing:
1. Carnage in Carthage (4:37)
2. Astral Elixir (5:16)
3. Son of Storms (4:33)
4. Die 1000 Deaths (5:24) (3rd Guitar Solo by Heinrich Yoshio of Aether Realm)
5. Bridgeburner (6:10)
6. The Alder Queen (3:17) (ft. Lead Vocals by Nina Osegueda of A Sound of Thunder)
7. March of Hunger (4:47)
8. Claw is the Law (5:24) (ft. Lead Vocals, Accordion, Mandolin, and Gang Vocals by The Dread Crew of Oddwood)
9. Onwards & Upwards (4:09) (ft. Lead Vocals by Mathias Blad of Falconer)
10. …Of Beasts and Faust (10:21) (ft. Lead Vocals by Vincent Jones of Aether Realm)
Total Length 53:57
Japanese Version Exclusives
11. Cakaw Te Partiro (Bonus) – 3:13
12. 一瞬千撃 (Bonus) – 5:25
Total Length 62:34

Album Recording Credits:
• All songs performed by: Ravenous E.H.
• All songs written by: R. A. Voltaire (Music: 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12. Lyrics: 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12),
Jake Wright (Music: 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10. Lyrics: 2, 5, 7), Skyler Mills (Music: 7), Francesco Sartori (Music: 11), Lucio Quarantotto (Lyrics: 11)
• Produced by: R. A. Voltaire, Jake Wright
• Mixed by: Fredrik Nordström
• Mastered by: Fredrik Nordström
• Album Artwork by: Moch Luthfi (LuthSlaughterArt)
• Member of SOCAN
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

Album Credits:
R. A. Voltaire: Lead Vocals (1-12), Backing Vocals (1-12), Acoustic Guitar (9), Guitar Solo (10)
Jake Wright: Rhythm Guitar (1-12), Lead Guitar, (1-12), Guitar Solo (1-12), Acoustic Guitar (3, 5, 8, 10), Gang Vocals (1, 4, 7, 8, 10)
Skyler Mills: Guitar Solo (2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 12)
Chris Valax: Bass Guitar (1-12)
Dave Crnkovic: Drums (1-12)
Daniel Carpenter: Orchestration (1-12), Piano (9), Guitar solo (10)
Heinrich Yoshio: Guitar Solo (4, 12)
Nina Osegueda: Lead Vocals (6)
Wolfbeard O’Brady: Lead Vocals, Gang Vocals, Accordion (8)
Deckhard Cordwain: Mandolin (8)
Smithy Crow: Gang Vocals (8)
Mathias Blad: Lead Vocals (9)
Vincent Jones: Lead Vocals (10)
Sam Wright: Banjo (10), Gang vocals (1, 4, 7, 8, 10)
Elly Uz: Gang vocals (1, 4, 7, 8, 10)

For more info:

Related posts

Canadian Power Metal RAVENOUS Want You To Know “The Claw Is The Law” w/ Mortal Kombat Video Game Music Video


RAVENOUS’ New Music Video Crowns “The Alder Queen” w/ A Sound of Thunder’s Nina Osegueda


RAVENOUS Partner With New Level Brewing For “Speed Metal Blonde” Beer + New Album Out Oct 22nd


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More