Brutal death metal giants MONUMENT OF MISANTHROPY announce new album on Transcending Obscurity Records

Monument of Misanthropy are back with a crushing new album that ticks all the boxes where this style of music goes. There’s unbridled savagery but also a sense of structure and meticulous songwriting, even though the fierce execution will make it difficult for listeners to fathom that. Two of the songs are streaming already on Bandcamp and our YouTube Channel, with more lined up for premieres. Brace yourselves for sheer mayhem and delectable gratuitous brutality. 

Monument of Misanthropy (International) – Unterweger (Brutal Death Metal)

Genre – Brutal Death Metal 
Release Date – November 12th, 2021
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records
For fans of: Suffocation, Gorgasm, Defeated Sanity, Benighted, Aborted, Depravity, Deeds of Flesh

Like a raging juggernaut in motion, Monument of Misanthropy are simply unstoppable and are here to decimate everything in their path. Armed with a new lineup which includes two new guitarists including one of De Profundis fame, a new bassist, and the drummer of Putridity, their sound is more powerful and well-rounded than ever before. Despite being incredibly heavy, there is more to their music than the body would suggest – the songwriting is intricate and layered, with there being several patterns that would belie the sheer heft of their music. The vocal performance too is among the best in the style – Georg, in addition to having a terrifying voice and an insane range, delivers in a rapid-fire method that is downright intimidating. It all coalesces together perfectly and elevates them above the expected stylistic confines of brutal death metal as a genre, while meeting every requirement and surpassing them too with aplomb. This is brutal death metal that’s not only devastatingly heavy, fast and crushing, but also has songwriting that attempts to transcend the brutality and keep things interesting, varied and engaging throughout. With ‘Unterweger’ being a concept album based on the shocking life of the transatlantic serial killer Jack Unterweger, it’s all the more effective as the band’s able to convey the horror in their own palpable, hard-hitting and memorable manner.

Line up –
George ‘Misanthrope’ Wilfinger – Vocals
Joe Gatsch – Lead guitars
Shoi Sen (De Profundis) – Lead guitars
Sam Terrak – Bass
Cédric Malebolgia (Putridity) – Drums

Guest vocals by Julien Truchan (Benighted) on The Mysterious Hollywood Hat-Trick
Guest vocals by Sven De Calue (Aborted) on Miami Vice – Miami Gold

Artwork by Remy Cuveillier (Cryptopsy)

Track listing –
1. The Mysterious Hollywood Hat-Trick 
2. The Strangulation of Silvia Zagler 
3. Tales From The Vienna Woods 
4. Exceptionally Sadistic 
5. A Man With A Special Qualification 
6. Demon Of Graz 
7. The Strangulation Of Blanka Bockova 
8. Midnight 
9. Miami Vice – Miami Gold 
10. The Legacy Of A Malignant Monster 
11. A Cleansing Storm 
12. Fall From Grace 

Monument Of Misanthropy Bandcamp

Related posts

Brutal death metal giants MONUMENT OF MISANTHROPY announce new release; unveil explicit official video


Brutal death metal force MONUMENT OF MISANTHROPY reveal smashing new track via Dead Rhetoric


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More