THECODONTION – Prehistoric Death Metal Duo Premiere New Split w/ VESSEL OF INIQUITY “The Permian-Triassic Extinction Event” via CVLT Nation

Italian prehistoric death metal duo THECODONTION and English blackened noise enigma VESSEL OF INIQUITY have premiered their new split The Permian-Triassic Extinction Event via CVLT Nation.


THECODONTION’s songs reshape death metal as we know it into a sonic journey where free jazz clouds soar above the morbid yells of prehistoric death dealers,” proclaims CVLT Nation. “VESSEL OF INIQUITY’s 11-minute song will drag you headfirst into an unrelenting storm of sonic hate that will take over your reality!”

This conceptual split release is about the titular Permian-Triassic extinction event (commonly known as “The Great Dying”), and life emerging anew afterwards. It occurred approximately 251 million years ago and it was the Earth’s most severe extinction event, during which almost all of the marine species, terrestrial vertebrates and insects became extinct. Theories for its cause range from meteor impacts, volcanic eruptions and climate change.

THECODONTION‘s side explores two different creatures which lived after that catastrophic occurrence, thus during the Triassic period: Thecodontosarus antiquus was an ancestral relative to sauropods, Procompsognathus triassicus was a small bipedal carnivorous theropod. 

VESSEL OF INIQUITY‘s side is sonically destructive, yet it features an evocative and almost poetic description of the inevitable cataclysm that occurred, putting an end to the Permian period and paving the way for new lifeforms during the Triassic.

THECODONTION‘s side was recorded by Guglielmo Nodari (Bedsore) and mixed and mastered by Marco Salluzzo (BedsoreDeströyer 666), while VESSEL OF INIQUITY‘s side was conceived, recorded, engineered, mixed and mastered by A. White.

After the critically acclaimed debut full-length SupercontinentTHECODONTION is back with two tracks (both spawned during the album’s recording sessions), in which the band is at its most experimental and intricate musical point thus far. Atmospheric, melodic leads and blistering solos alternate with crushing riffs and relentless blasting.

VESSEL OF INIQUITY‘s sole member A. White is a master in audial annihilation and ultra-violence in the form of furious drumming and non-stop slab of harsh noise, behind which lies a vortex of sprawling riffs. After two masterpieces such as Vessel of Iniquity and Void of Infinite Horror, this entity is certainly not holding back regarding musical extremity.

Calamitous occurrences such as basalt volcanic eruptions and ocean acidification are beautifully depicted with abstract forms on the cover artwork by Italian artist STRX. 

The Permian-Triassic Extinction Event will be released Sept. 3 on CD via I, Voidhanger Records, cassette (US) via Dead Red Queen Records and cassette (Taiwan) via Bad Moon Rising.


G.E.F. – vocals (track 2), songwriting
G.D. – bass, lyrics, arrangements

Session members on The Permian-Triassic Extinction Event:

V.P. – drums
Skaðvaldur – vocals (track 1)


A. White – all instruments, vocals


Related posts

THECODONTION Announce Long-Awaited Supercontinent Cassette Release


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More