SIGNS OF THE SWARM face their demons with powerful new single / video ‘Death Whistle’

Absolvere album out 24th September via Unique Leader

US modern deathcore heavyweights Signs of the Swarm have unveiled new single / video ‘Death Whistle’, taken from their forthcoming album, Absolvere, out 24th September 2021 via Unique Leader.

One of the most dynamic tracks on Absolvere with the addition of melodic vocals, watch the video to ‘Death Whistle’ here:

Vocalist David Simonich commented “‘Death Whistle’ is a conceptual piece inspired by the ancient Aztec relic used in war. Entwining this idea to represent the end of our pain and sorrow that fuels the war within ourselves.

“While composing ‘Death Whistle,’ we as a group had our own individual challenges and griefs to overcome. Sharing my experience publicly, I went through the hardship of losing my mother. To this day, I struggle with the constant battle within myself that there was something else I could have done to change what had happened. Full of regret, I dwell on my actions of the past where I believe that if I were around that my influence could have changed the outcome.

“This song has a special place in my heart for it was the first time the band fully collaborated on the lyrics of a song. Pouring our souls, ‘Death Whistle’ was born.”

Guitarist Jeff Russo continues: “I brought the ‘Death Whistle’ concept to the table after stumbling across videos of them online and feeling inspired by their chilling nature. Coming full circle to tie this together with our personal struggles and the lyrical content of the song, I felt pouring our feelings of being overwhelmed and crushed by life’s obstacles and tragedies was fitting. The end beckons to us, it instils fear in us, but we answer its call and we are swallowed by it. It’s a dark fantasy entailing the agonies of depression, loss, and letting go, but one I feel many can relate to at times.”

Pre-order/save Absolvere here:

This follows previous single ‘Hollow Prison’ featuring Alex Erian of Despised Icon, listen  here:

Track listing:

01 – Hymns ov Invocation
02 – Boundless Manifestations
03 – Dreaming Desecration
04 – Totem
05 – Nameless
07 – Revelations ov a Silent King
08 – Hollow Prison ft. Alex Erian
09 – Blood Seal ft. Ben Duerr
10 – Death Whistle

On fourth LP AbsolvereSigns of the Swarm are bleak without being blackened, smashing without being slam, and downtempo as a choice rather than a stylistic confine. They contrast that with some of the most brutal moments in their seven-year career, with riffs more punishing than pensive and a rhythm section that frames them in creatively cacophonic ways. Above it all, they’re utilising vocalist David Simonich‘s monstrous range in a much fuller capacity than on his debut, 2019’s Vital Deprivation. That transitional album found the band experimenting to re-find their footing. Though the addition of guitarist Jeff Russo could suggest growing pains, they sound more confident than ever with Simonich’s former Improvidence bandmate sliding right in.

Simonich roars about the real (loved ones struggling with addiction, submitting one’s self wholly to art despite negativity swirling about) and the surreal; he or his characters beg for the release of death only to be denied. The album’s finishing touch is Ben Duerr (Shadow of Intent) and Alex Erian (Despised Icon) joining the band for guest vocals.

On the album, Bobby Crow continues: Absolvere makes good on the musicality we were striving for on Vital Deprivation and combines it with the eerie atmosphere and brutality on our first two albums. We added a myriad of new sounds, techniques and vocal styles as we collectively composed each song from the ground-up.”

Proven as a major force on the stage, Signs of the Swarm have toured with the likes of AbortedLorna Shore, Shadow of Intent, Brand of Sacrifice, Ingested, Disentomb, Traitors and more. US and European tours soon to be announced, more news soon.

Signs Of The Swarm online:
Facebook || Twitter || Instagram

Related posts

SIGNS OF THE SWARM release new track and video for “Unbridled” today


SIGNS OF THE SWARM release new single featuring Alex Erian of Despised Icon


SIGNS OF THE SWARM release new single and announce album details


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More