New COGNIZANCE single, ‘Oneiric’, premiering now

Photography credit: Nathan Francey

Leeds, UK via Graz, Austria based band COGNIZANCE are today premiering their latest single, Oneiric, via Metal Injection. Accompanying the premiere COGNIZANCE have shared a performance clip of the song, showcasing the bands technical prowess and airtight musicianship. Oneiric is the third track to be taken from the death metal band’s upcoming sophomore album, Upheaval, due out via Prosthetic Records on September 24. 

Oneiric will be available via all streaming services on Friday, September 10.

Pre-order Upheaval here.


Speaking on the single premiere, COGNIZANCE comments: “Oneiric is the third single from Upheaval and showcases the more technical and extreme side of COGNIZANCE. This was the first song Apostolis wrote for the band after joining as a guitarist and is a great exhibit of the flavour he adds to our sound. The lyrics of the song were inspired by Dorris Lessing’s ‘Canopus in Argos’ series and explores the dichotomy between improvement and elimination of the human condition.”

Similarly to 2019’s Malignant DominionCOGNIZANCE once again took to recording and self-producing their latest effort. Guitars and bass were recorded in the scenic sleepy village of Dent in Northumberland, and engineered by guitarist Alex Baillie. The demonic voice of vocalist Henry Pryce was captured in the eerie surroundings of an urn factory. Drums were recorded overseas at Rock Studio, Austria by Sebastian Wrum, with David delivering another performance of blast beats, intricate grooves and jaw dropping fills. Upheaval was mixed and mastered by legendary Swedish producer Fredrik Nordstrom (At The Gates, Architects, Dimmu Borgir), adding the final cutting edge to the record.

Since Malignant DominionCOGNIZANCE have solidified their lineup as a five piece – welcoming second guitarist, Apostolis “Yage” Karydis, adding an extra dimension to their sound. The last year also saw long-time drummer David Diepold sharing duties with German tech-death kings Obscura. On Upheaval, COGNIZANCE once again demonstrates that speed and technicality can fully embrace groove and hooks to compelling effect.

Watch the music videos for Upheaval‘s singles so far:
Syntheticus II: Refuge
Aeon Sickness

Upheaval tracklist:

1. Hymns
2. Drifting (R)evolution
3. Decaying Gods
4. Oneiric
5. The Mouth Which Cannot Speak
6. Forbidden Alchemy
7. Syntheticus I – Atrophy
8. Syntheticus II – Refuge
9. Fever Dream
10. Aeon Sickness

Henry Pryce – Vocals
Alex Baillie – Guitars
David Diepold – Drums
Chris Binns – Bass
Apostolis “Yage” Karydis – Guitars

Related posts

New COGNIZANCE single, ‘Aeon Sickness’, premiering now


COGNIZANCE announce second album, ‘Upheaval’; New single, ‘Syntheticus II – Refuge’, and music video out now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.