RUNESPELL stream new IRON BONEHEAD album at Black Metal Promotion

Today, OZBM elite Runespell stream the entirety of their highly anticipated fourth album, Verses in Regicide, at the Black Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Set for international release on September 10th via Iron Bonehead Productions, hear Runespell‘s Verses in Regicide in its entirety exclusively HERE.

By now, Runespell should require little introduction. Since this Australian entity’s public unveiling in 2017 with the Aeons of Ancient Blood demo – released by Iron Bonehead, as well as all successive recordings – Runespell has sharpened its sword and quickly, with three albums arriving like clockwork every year: Unhallowed Blood Oath (2017), Order of Vengeance (2018), and Voice of Opprobrium (2019). That’s not to suggest that mainman Nightwolf is hasty or careless with his creations; rather, the Runespell aesthetic is so etched in iron, so forged in blood, that this mystical & mesmerizing soundworld takes on its own life. A split LP with the reanimated Forest Mysticism arrived last year, tiding the faithful over until the next full-length.

At last, it arrives in the form of Verses in Regicide. Arguably Runespell‘s best-produced and -executed album to date, Verses in Regicide is highly familiar in one sense – grandiose melancholy given majestic flight, bloodlusting energy no matter the tempo, widescreen in its vast landscapes yet fiercely focused – but reveals a subtly newer side. Melody has always played a prominent part in the characteristic Runespell riffing – equal parts classic Scandinavia, France, and Poland – but there’s a multi-layered shadow of scintillating scales here that dazzles the senses and pulls even harder at the heartstrings. It’s deceptively straightforward, but boundlessly deep; it likewise feels more urgent than ever while seemingly coming from a cosmos many realities removed. Put another way, Verses in Regicide is second-wave black metal born from the elements, where earth, water, and fire forge a new destiny when wielded by such expert hands as Runespell‘s Nightwolf. And of course, those plaintive acoustic tracks, here aptly titled “Into Dust” and “Windswept Burial,” chill to the fucking bone.

Could Runespell very well be the best or at least most compellingly consistent black metal bands of the last five years? Verses in Regicide is irrefutable evidence in the affirmative.

Hear all of it for yourself exclusively HERE, courtesy of the Black Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Runespell’s Verses in Regicide
1. Structures of Collapse [6:37]
2. Vengeance Reign [6:21]
3. Realm of Fire [5:11]
4. Into Dust [2:08]
5. Tides of Slidhr [9:11]
6. Shadow’s Dominion [5:51]
7. Windswept Burial [2:24]


Related posts

RUNESPELL premiere new track at


RUNESPELL set release date for new IRON BONEHEAD album, reveal first track


RUNESPELL and FOREST MYTICISM to release split album thru IRON BONEHEAD


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.