Drink Deep Power Thrash Enlightenment With “Astral Elixir” From Canada’s RAVENOUS

“Hubris” Out October 22nd via Feast Beast Records (NA/EU) / Spiritual Beast (Asia)
Album guests:
Vincent ‘Jake’ Jones of Aether RealmHeinrich Yoshio of Aether RealmMathias Blad of FalconerNina Osegueda of A Sound of Thunder
The Dread Crew of Oddwood (Full Band)

Album Pre-Order Now Available!

L-R: Ravenous Current Line Up
Skyler Mills (Guitar) | Dave Crnkovic (Drums) | R. A. Voltaire (Vocals) | Chris Valax (Bass) | Jake Wright (Guitar)
Photo Credit – Monika Deviat

Calgary, Canada’s Ravenous have a new album “Hubris” coming out this year and the second single “Astral Elixir” is now being served up with a music video via its premiere on MetalInsider HERE.  

The single combines the spiritual experience of psychedelic rock with the changing musical patterns of prog metal at thrashing top speeds, a relentless power-thrash workout designed to be slick but rhythmically exhausting. The song breaks into a multifaceted and technical bridge that leads into an explosive shred section before a triumphant singalong ending. Ravenous explain the track further:

“Astral Elixir” was the first song that Jake wrote specifically for the “Hubris” album. It was a dedicated effort to move Ravenous towards a more technical direction while maintaining the genre-blending influences of power, thrash, and speed metal. The title of “Astral Elixir” is a homage to some of Jake’s favourite songs: Astral Body (Between the Buried and Me) and Celestial Elixir (Haken), and the choice to make the lyrics spacey and psychedelic with themes of astral projection and ego death was a deliberate juxtaposition to the shreddy, dense music. Take a sip of the Astral Elixir and get lost in the soaring vocals, machine-gun drumming, and bombastic sweep arpeggios”

Existing fans of Ravenous will notice increased cohesion with “Hubris”, it contrasts against the previous recording where each of the tracks were more of an individual effort combined to create a product, but on this album, they are more of a collaborative effort and tied to finding the best way to bring each artist’s creativity into the fold while still maintaining the ethos of “what is best for the song”.

Ravenous brings a full lineup of experienced musicians together, ones that have toured extensively and are fully dedicated to providing a high-energy, high-intensity live experience. They seek to inspire others to find that inner triumph and glory that drove them to form this project – whether that means starting their own band, or just finding the strength to make a change in their lives – they seek to empower their followers through every step of their journey.

Recommended for fans of Powerwolf, Sabaton, and Unleash the Archers, Ravenous is bringing you anthemic tunes from a time when metal was hungry.

“Hubris” will be released on October 22, 2021 via Feast Beast Records for North America plus Europe and for Asia via Spiritual Beast with exclusive bonus tracks “Cakaw Te Partiro” and “一瞬千撃” for the Japanese version.

The album was produced by Ravenous with mixing and mastering done by Fredrik Nordström (In Flames, Opeth, Firewind) along with album guests Vincent ‘Jake’ Jones of Aether Realm, Heinrich Yoshio of Aether Realm, Mathias Blad of Falconer, Nina Osegueda of A Sound of Thunder, The Dread Crew of Oddwood (Full Band).

Album pre-order at 

Album Trailer – 

Animated music videos for “Die 1000 Deaths” ft. Heinrich Yoshio of Aether Realm.
English Version –
Japanese Version –

Track Listing:
1. Carnage in Carthage (4:37)
2. Astral Elixir (5:16)
3. Son of Storms (4:33)
4. Die 1000 Deaths (5:24) (3rd Guitar Solo by Heinrich Yoshio of Aether Realm)
5. Bridgeburner (6:10)
6. The Alder Queen (3:17) (ft. Lead Vocals by Nina Osegueda of A Sound of Thunder)
7. March of Hunger (4:47)
8. Claw is the Law (5:24) (ft. Lead Vocals, Accordion, Mandolin, and Gang Vocals by The Dread Crew of Oddwood)
9. Onwards & Upwards (4:09) (ft. Lead Vocals by Mathias Blad of Falconer)
10. …Of Beasts and Faust (10:21) (ft. Lead Vocals by Vincent Jones of Aether Realm)
Total Length 53:57
Japanese Version Exclusives
11. Cakaw Te Partiro (Bonus) – 3:13
12. 一瞬千撃 (Bonus) – 5:25
Total Length 62:34

Album Recording Credits:
• All songs performed by: Ravenous E.H.
• All songs written by: R. A. Voltaire (Music: 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12. Lyrics: 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12),
Jake Wright (Music: 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10. Lyrics: 2, 5, 7), Skyler Mills (Music: 7), Francesco Sartori (Music: 11), Lucio Quarantotto (Lyrics: 11)
• Produced by: R. A. Voltaire, Jake Wright
• Mixed by: Fredrik Nordström
• Mastered by: Fredrik Nordström
• Album Artwork by: Moch Luthfi (LuthSlaughterArt)
• Member of SOCAN
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

Album Credits:
R. A. Voltaire: Lead Vocals (1-12), Backing Vocals (1-12), Acoustic Guitar (9), Guitar Solo (10)
Jake Wright: Rhythm Guitar (1-12), Lead Guitar, (1-12), Guitar Solo (1-12), Acoustic Guitar (3, 5, 8, 10), Gang Vocals (1, 4, 7, 8, 10)
Skyler Mills: Guitar Solo (2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 12)
Chris Valax: Bass Guitar (1-12)
Dave Crnkovic: Drums (1-12)
Daniel Carpenter: Orchestration (1-12), Piano (9), Guitar solo (10)
Heinrich Yoshio: Guitar Solo (4, 12)
Nina Osegueda: Lead Vocals (6)
Wolfbeard O’Brady: Lead Vocals, Gang Vocals, Accordion (8)
Deckhard Cordwain: Mandolin (8)
Smithy Crow: Gang Vocals (8)
Mathias Blad: Lead Vocals (9)
Vincent Jones: Lead Vocals (10)
Sam Wright: Banjo (10), Gang vocals (1, 4, 7, 8, 10)
Elly Uz: Gang vocals (1, 4, 7, 8, 10)

For more info:

Related posts

Canadian Power Metal RAVENOUS Want You To Know “The Claw Is The Law” w/ Mortal Kombat Video Game Music Video


RAVENOUS’ New Music Video Crowns “The Alder Queen” w/ A Sound of Thunder’s Nina Osegueda


RAVENOUS Partner With New Level Brewing For “Speed Metal Blonde” Beer + New Album Out Oct 22nd


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More