PHANTOM FIRE premiere new track at “Legacy” magazine’s website – features members of GAAHLS WYRD, KRAKOW+++

Today, uprising Norwegian metallers  Phantom Fire premiere the new track “Sweet Jezebel” at Legacy magazine’s website. The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s  highly anticipated debut album, The Bust of Beelzebub, set for international release on October 22nd via Edged Circle Productions. Hear Phantom Fire‘s “Sweet Jezebel” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

It was but May 2021 when a brand-new entity burst from Bergen, Norway, bearing the all-too-apropos moniker Phantom Fire. With members hailing from such bands as Gaahls Wyrd and Krakow, the duo surprisingly went a different route with their debut EP, Return of the Goat. Hard-rocking, hard-charging, reeking of rust and diesel, Phantom Fire proved they were their own band removed from any sort of lineal references. Better yet, perhaps, they were just getting started and already promised a debut full-length…

Before the dust of Return of the Goat even had a chance to clear, that debut album is finally here: The Bust of Beelzebub! Flexing the same chops and some new ones, Phantom Fire‘s first full-length salaciously spans pitch-black speed metal and moody epic metal alike, all of it in (evil) obeisance to timeless HEAVY METAL magick. At once decades old and years ahead of the game, The Bust of Beelzebub bears an ageless wisdom across its succinct seven-song/29-minute runtime, like Aura Noir jamming out on some Cirith Ungol covers or early Omen getting turned onto the Swedish Cranium, and vice versa – on and on, ad infinitumexcelsior! Nevertheless, some interesting twists crop up in the most unselfconscious ways, like the spattering of spiraling psychedelic guitar or solemn Viking-dirge acoustics, altogether making for a wild ride across the hinterlands of the frozen Norwegian tundra…all before it’s lit afire!

With stout and richly analog recording courtesy of Iver Sandøy (Enslaved) at Solslottet Studio in Bergen and deliciously warped cover art by Nifelheim’s Hellbutcher, Phantom Fire‘s The Bust of Beelzebub is an exceptionally unique take on the traditional. The band will be making their live debut at this year’s Beyond the Gates: Uprising festival in Bergen on August 6th.

In the meantime, hear the brand-new track “Sweet Jezebel” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Legacy, Germany’s premier extreme metal authority. Also see the previously revealed video for “Feed on Fire” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Decibel magazine. Preorder info can be found HERE at Edged Circle‘s Bandcamp. Aforementioned cover art and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Phantom Fire’s The Bust of Beelzebub
1 Return Of The Goat [2:26]
2 Bust Of Beelzebub [2:21]
3 Sweet Jezebel [3:22]
4. Pihsrow [5:26]
5. Shut Eye [5:10]
6. Feed On Fire [4:26]
7. The Ninth Gate [5:46]


Related posts

PHANTOM FIRE premiere new video at “Decibel” magazine’s website – features members of GAAHLS WYRD, KRAKOW+++


PHANTOM FIRE set release date, reveal cover & tracklisting for EDGED CIRCLE debut album – features members of GAAHLS WYRD, KRAKOW+++


PHANTOM FIRE stream EDGED CIRCLE debut EP at “Decibel” magazine’s website – features members of GAAHLS WYRD, KRAKOW+++


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.