AUTOKRATOR – French harrowing extreme duo’s new LP ‘Persecution’ comes November via Krucyator Productions + First Single streaming now

French formidable force Autokrator announces the details of the 4th full-length, Persecution, slated for release on 05 November via Krucyator Productions on different formats: CD, Vinyl, and digital. The album serves as a distressing narrative of the persecution of Christians during the Roman Empire.

As the first taste of the album, Autokrator presents the track, “The Great Persecution.” The appalling doomy death/black duo teamed up with Decibel Magazine for the premiere of the single (full article RIGHT HERE).

Guitarist/bassist Loïc Fontaine states:
“‘The Great Persecution’ is a song about the Diocletianic persecution of the Christians. Diocletian drafted four edicts which lead to destructions of cult places, deprivation of some rights, arrests, tortures, sacrifices.”

With three lauded albums, Autokrator has already become a fearsome name in the underground. Notorious for their unconventional, harrowing, and hazardous sonic power, the French duo has constantly been extending the limits of extreme music, interspersing death metal with pulverizing doom, earsplitting noise, terrifying black metal, or cadaverous dark experimentation.

On the impending album, Persecution, Autokrator continues recreating the violent episodes from the past. Once again, using historical incidents as the album theme, the band recounts the persecution of Christians during the ancient Roman Empire — under the reigns of Marcus Aurelius, Diocletian, Domitian, and Trajan. Make no mistake, the record has nothing to do with glorifying the barbarity; it rather conjures up the cruel and dreadful sufferings of the victims — be it decapitation, execution, lapidation, damnatio ad bestias, dislocation, imprisonment, or banishment.

A trial fraught with danger, the album Persecution sees Autokrator entering into a new trajectory of death/black metal, shrouded by menacing, grotesque atmosphere. Musically, the suffocating 6-track record is the most intense and gnarliest offering by the duo thus far.

Kevin Paradis (Benighted, Mithridatic), who played drums on the previous record, again joined forces with Autokrator to lend his vicious, torrential blasts.

Track Listing:
01. De Gloria Martyrum Et Confessorum                              
02. The Great Persecution                                            
03. DCLXVI                                                                          
04. Antechristus                                                                              
05. Caesar Nerva Traianus                                            
06. Apocalypsis  

Loïc Fontaine – Guitars, Bass
David Bailey – Vocals
Kevin Paradis – Drums (Session)

Recorded, Mixed and mastered by Fontaine at Krucyator Studio (
Vocals recorded by David Bailey.
Drums recorded by Kevin Paradis.

Artwork by Nestor Avalos.
Layout arrangement by Loïc Fontaine.

Pre-Order: (CD) (Vinyl) (Bandcamp  – CD, Vinyl, Digital) (Digital)

Follow Autokrator:

Related posts

AUTOKRATOR – Krucyator Productions Issue the French Harrowing Death Metal Act’s New Album ‘Persecution’ on Cassettes


AUTOKRATOR – Invisible Oranges streaming menacing French duo’s album ‘Persecution’; out tomorrow via Krucyator Productions


AUTOKRATOR – French menacing brutes stream new track “DCLXVI” via No Clean Singing; album ‘Persecution’ out November via Krucyator Productions


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More