SNAKEBLADE Unleashes Atmospherically Dark And Sonically Sophisticated “Harvester” Off “The Curse”

New Album “The Curse” Out October 13, 2021

Canadian one-man project Snakeblade is releasing a new album “The Curse” and the final single before it officially drops is “Harvester”. The project was started to alleviate the stress that came with the pandemic and has already released an album in 2020 entitled “The Kingdom”. The newest album is quite a big departure from the sound established in the first full-length, and listeners can expect a more robust, mature sound that is rounded out by the addition of a session drummer taking up the kit. The name behind it all, Mike Redston explains the new single:

“Harvester is one of my heaviest tracks ever. There’s no bullshit, no diddly-daddling around. It’s a straight-up ‘fuck you’ of a song. The song’s lyrics are completely raw and unfiltered. Looking back on it now, I see a whole lot of rage and anger in this thing. And that’s really the essence of what The Curse is all about.”

Songs on “The Curse” were written shortly after “The Kingdom”, but worked on and stewed over for much longer. There was lots of experimentation and re-writing. It was a tedious, pain-staking project, but according to Redston, it paid off. It is a concept album of sorts revolving around one of Redston’s all-time favorite fantasy series: Game of Thrones.

Each of the ten tracks is a release of nerd energy with hints of personal experiences; some of the plotlines explored include The Red Woman, Stannis Baratheon, and The Lord of Light religion.

The “One-Man Nerdy’n’Dirty” black metal is recommended for fans of Dissection, Slayer, and Skeletonwitch.

The single “Harvester” can be heard via its premiere on ThisIsBlackMetal‘s YouTube channel –

The album “The Curse” will be available on October 13, 2021.

Album pre-order –

Previous singles
The Red Mage’s Seduction –
Foul Sorcery of Flame and Shadow –

Track Listing:
1. Destiny (Intro) (1:42)
2. Rotten Souls (6:48)
3. Harvester (3:35)
4. Dreams of Aida (1:53)
5. The Red Mage’s Seduction (6:01)
6. Foul Sorcery of Flame and Shadow (5:04)
7. Godswood (2:28)
8. Born Among Salt and Smoke (5:46)
9. Archways (3:05)
10. Exile, Outlaw… The Essence (6:34)
Album Length: 42:56

Album Credits:
• All songs performed by: Mike Redston
Drums performed by Dennis Kraakman
Artwork by Elizabeth Holmes
‘Dreams of Aida’ co-produced with Macca Grills
‘Godswood’ co-produced with Logan Macdonald
• All songs written by: Mike Redston
• Produced by: Mike Redston
• Album Artwork by: Elizabeth Holmes
• Member of SOCAN
• Music is Canadian Content (MAPL)

Album Band Line Up:
Mike Redston – Vocals, Guitar, Bass Guitar,
Dennis Kraakman – Drums

For more info: 

Related posts

Watch One Man Black Metal SNAKEBLADE’s Slithering New Music Videos For New Album “The Curse”


SNAKEBLADE Is Now Streaming Game Of Thrones Adjacent Extreme Metal Album “The Curse”


Heavy Blog Is Heavy Premiere SNAKEBLADE’s Heavily Technical “Foul Sorcery of Flame and Shadow”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.