REAPING ASMODEIA, ‘Darkened Infinity’, out now

Photographer credit: Brad Gunnarson

REAPING ASMODEIA have today released their new album, Darkened Infinity, via Prosthetic Records. The Minneapolis trio’s third album sees REAPING ASMODEIA fuse together expansive and progressive technical death metal with conceptual themes of transcendentalism, the afterlife and dream logic. Alongside Darkened Infinity‘s release the band have also shared a new music video for Oneironautic Oblivion.


Listen to Darkened Infinity via Spotify | Apple Music | Tidal | Deezer | Bandcamp
Order Darkened Infinity here

Speaking on the album release, the band comments: “The last year and a half to 2 years has been somewhat of a blur to a lot of us. When we completed Darkened Infinity at the onset of the pandemic, we were uncertain about a lot of things. For quite some time, we did not know when this body of work would be resting in your hands/ears – but that day has finally come! Words fall short to explain how pleased we are that you can endure Darkened Infinity, as we hoped it would be, from start to finish. 

Expect to see us pouring our energy and souls into our live show in a city near you very soon. If you are near our hometown area of the Twin Cities, we trust you will share the night of Saturday October 16th with us. Come celebrate the unleashing of Darkened Infinity together at the Amsterdam in St. Paul, MN.”

Praise for Darkened Infinity:

“…this Minnesota trio’s third effort is the band’s most noteworthy” – Metal Hammer UK (October ’21)

REAPING ASMODEIA still offer sophisticated playing that can compete with the top league of tech death.” –

“…while it still sticks to its guns, it’s far too playful and energetic to be held down because of it.” – Dead Rhetoric

“Unleashing lightning speed riffing that still manages to be jam packed with hooks, like Aborted on steroids” – Metal Trenches (Best Metal Albums of the Week)

Produced and engineered by the band themselves in Minneapolis before being mixed and mastered by Zack Ohren (Machine Head, All Shall Perish, Carnifex) at Castle Ultimate and Sharkbite Studios, Darkened Infinity’s intricate lead melodies unfurl with a menacing clarity when set against the album’s more abrasive tones.

Darkened Infinity’s concept begins steeped in tragedy as the album’s protagonist loses his family at the hands of humanity’s destructive force, with his own life hanging in the balance. As the tale unfolds, Lane’s lyrics thread together a story of immortality, malevolent entities and realms of dream logic – all the while exploring humankind’s inherent duality. Darkened Infinity’s thematic quest for transcendence is adroitly tied together in the opening and closing moments, suggesting enlightenment is not something to be obtained, but merely ‘the consequence of being’.In the four years since their 2017 effort, ImpuritizeREAPING ASMODEIA have relentlessly pursued the US live circuit, playing shows alongside the likes of Slaughter To Prevail, Rivers of Nihil, The Faceless and many more – refining their craft with a perseverance and determination akin to few others. Discontent with resting on their laurels, REAPING ASMODEIA in 2021 are a far more seasoned beast, ready and willing to obliterate all notions of time mellowing their appetite and musical ambitions.

Immersive, immense and infinitely satisfying – Darkened Infinity deftly places REAPING ASMODEIA amongst the genre’s most promising and consistently intriguing groups.

Watch the music videos for Darkened Infinity so far:
False Awakening
Simulacra (visualizer)

Darkened Infinity tracklist:

1. Parasight
2. Epoch of Choler
3. False Awakening
4. Lamentations
5. Simulacra
6. Terpsichorean Flume
7. Dreamcaster
8. The Forge of Moira
9. Switching Shadows
10. Oneironautic Oblivion
11. Aberration
12. The Consequence of Being

Steven Lane – vocals
Alexander Kelly – guitars
Daniel Koppy – drums

Upcoming REAPING ASMODEIA shows:

16 October – The Amsterdam – St, Paul, MN (Album Release Show)

29 October – Ed’s No Name Bar – Winona, MN – Winona Metalfest 2

Related posts

REAPING ASMODEIA share new music video for ‘Simulacra’


REAPING ASMODEIA release new single, ‘Dreamcaster’; Music video premiering now


New REAPING ASMODEIA single, ‘Simulacra’, premiering now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More