Metal Injection Launches Pre-Release Stream of SUNLESS Album ‘Ylem’

Dissonant Death Metal trio SUNLESS have partnered with Metal Injection for the premiere of forthcoming album Ylem. Stream it below!

SUNLESS will release sophomore album Ylem October 29 on CD, vinyl, and digital formats via Willowtip Records.




“Without a doubt, Ylem will be ranked as one of the best technical death metal releases of the year.”
– Metal Injection

“Perfect in everything, in skill, in duration, in brutality, it is an absolute ten.”
– Retumba

“Everything about the musicality, compositions and arrangements is superior. Extremely engaging and memorable.” (4/5)
– Metal-Rules

“The characteristic forward lurch of excellent avant-garde death is more than present here — and it never stops inviting the listener to willingly plunge further and further down into Ylem‘s cavernous depths.”
– Heavy Blog is Heavy

“Sunless have mastered an unusual art form — the creation of intricate riffs and rhythms that are not conventionally melodic or predictable, and indeed are suggestive of chaos and madness, and yet still get quickly stuck in the head.”
– No Clean Singing

“The trio attack with splurging basslines, discombobulating time signatures, and vocals carved from a chasm.”
– Invisible Oranges

“An extremely interesting album, which grabs you from beginning to end. Highly recommended.” (9.6/10)
– Dargedik Rock Metal Webzine

“If you’re a fan of progressive death metal with technical, blackened and avantgarde atmospheric passages then this record is for you.” (9/10)
– Metal Purgatory

“Dazzling displays of musicianship.”
– Metal-Temple

“Ylem is almost enchanting and will certainly appeal to those for whom idiosyncratic death metal makes the adrenaline flow faster.”
– Zwaren Metalen

“Dense, dissonant, mathy metal. Guitars slice thin cuts of spoiled notes, the snare drum pops like popcorn, and a raspy vocal growls to this kaleidescopic examination of the dark.”
– Rebel Noise

Part two of a trilogy, Ylem builds upon the concept and lyrical theme of the band’s independently released debut album, Urraca, by reinforcing the mysticism of the previous album while exploring new themes of displacement, fear, wonder, and transcendence. With the addition of a new drummer and an evolving approach to songwriting, SUNLESS further develops their signature sound with increasingly diverse, dense, and technical offerings.

Best consumed whole, the experience of Ylem is as harrowing as it is satisfying, one rife with dissonant melodies and complex rhythmic structures, certain to leave an indelible mark on the listener’s psyche.

Track Listing:

1) Spiraling into the Unfathomable
2) Ascended Forms
3) The Unraveling of Arcane Past
4) Atramentous
5) Flesh-Particle Amalgamation
6) Forgotten (Remnants of Life)
7) Perpetual Contortion
8) Molding Axioms of the Metaphysical

Album Credits:

Engineered by Adam Tucker at Signaturetone Recording in Minneapolis, MN.

Mixed and mastered by Colin Marston at Menegroth, The Thousand Caves Studio in Queens, NY.

Album concept, lyrics, art, and design by Andrew Notsch (Hollowdusk) in New York, NY.


Mitch Schooler (Bass)
Lucas Scott (Guitar/Vocals)
Taylor Hamel (Drums)
Sunless on Spotify

Related posts

SUNLESS Premieres New Song: “Ascended Forms”


SUNLESS Premieres New Track from Upcoming Willowtip Album


Dissonant Death Metal Trio SUNLESS Releasing Ylem on Willowtip in October


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More