PANZERCHRIST – genre-defining “Soul Collector” reissue out today

In 2000, PANZERCHRIST were not unknown in the European death metal scene. Their previous two albums brought them recognition and respect from the underground press, the extreme metal fans and their pairs due to an efficient, brutal and precise approach to their style. Yet, nothing had prepared the world for what’s to come in “Soul Collector”. The band top their own speed and brutality, delivering an opus of eight songs, sung entirely in German, where the fastest death metal met some black metal influences to bring Panzerchrist to the top of their game, gaining even more respect and admiration for the Danish group. The recording line-up was strong was a panzer: Illdisposed vocalist Bo Summer led the troops, followed closely by Exmortem drummer Reno Killerich, ex-Frozen Sun guitar player Michael Kopietz and bassist Karina Bundgaard. The band went leaps and highs ever since the release of “Panzerchrist”, but it was in 2000, with this fast and flawless offering, that Panzerchrist hit their real breakthrough and went from a death metal promise to a global extreme metal entity.

Today, two decades after its original release, this Danish death metal classic gains a new life, with a re-release in CD and – for the first time ever – on vinyl LP, available in three different colours. Remastered at Angioni Studios.

“Soul Collector” is out today in digipack CD, and LP (black, red and yellow vinyls, each limited to 100 copies) via Emanzipation Productions. Orders are available at this link.

Panzerchrist were formed in 1993 by Michael Enevoldsen, which by that time was leaving his role as Illdisposed drummer. Precise as a clock, the band released their first two albums every three years- in 1996 and 1999 – until they hit gold with a record deal signed with Mighty Music and two of their most successful albums ever: “Soul Collector” in 2000 and “Room Service” in 2003. Amidst a constant line up change (which saw Enevoldsen himself switch from drums to keyboards and later to bass) and which transformed Panzerchrist in a global stage for the best musicians in the Danish metal scene, the band released their fifth opus, “Batallion Bwast”, in 2006, before singing to French labes Listenable Records, through which they released the latest two studio albums.

Recording line-up:
Reno Kiilerich – drums
Michael Kopietz – guitars, bass
Karina Bundgaard – bass
Bo Summer – lead vocals
Michael Enevoldsen – songwriting



Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.