NEEDLESS release new album “The Cosmic Cauldron” in January

Photo by Kristóf Lányi

Welcome to the sci-fi world of NEEDLESS. On “The Cosmic Cauldron”, the band’s second album, the Hungarian death metallers offers a ten-track sci-fi concept album featuring the story of an astronaut who grants an unbearable gift from an entity, which is beyond our universe. A relic, a framework, a godly being out of this world: The Cosmic Cauldron.

A nearly one-hour-long musical journey where the young quintet explores their explosive mix of melodic death metal, progressive structures, and complex narratives. Featuring the gorgeous voice of Martina Horvath from Thy Catafalque on the track “Planet Oblivion” and with otherworldly cover art designed by Mark Cooper (Rings Of Saturn, Master, Malevolent Creation), “The Cosmic Cauldron” is metal of the 21st Century on earth with an eye in space.

Needless was founded during the winter of 2004 in Dánszentmiklós, Hungary. The band started as a home project, and slowly evolved into an active group for the year 2014. Their music basically consists of traditional elements of melodic thrash and death metal with the atmospheric side of black metal with some progressive elements.

All mixed up into a fierce blend of aggression and ferocity, with mythical themes and nihilistic contemplations about humankind in the lyrics. In 2015 the band came up with their first accountable release called “The Dark Spirit of Ages” EP, which received critically positive feedback. After its release, Needless did several shows in its home country with bands like Aggression, Nervosa, Nuclear, Dew-Scented, and Flotsam And Jetsam. In 2021 they signed to UPRISING! Records and produced their second album “The Cosmic Cauldron” at No Silence Studios, Hungary, with Gyula taking care of the productions, mix, and mastering.

“The Cosmic Cauldron” will be re-released on CD and digital via UPRISING! Records on January 7th, 2022. Pre-orders are up now.

“The Cosmic Cauldron” tracklist:

1. Warvoid A.D.
2. Astrogate The Spectral Lane
3. The Predation
4. Mournful Heavens
5. The Cosmic Cauldron
6. Odium
7. The Prism Fortress
8. Chrononaut
9. Planet Oblivion
10. Transgalactic

László Bánfalvi – bass
Kasper Botond – drums
Tamás Bárány – guitars
Ádám Foczek – vocals
Fogl Botond – guitars



Related posts

NEEDLESS – The Cosmic Cauldron


NEEDLESS release single/video “The Cosmic Cauldron”


NEEDLESS signs to UPRISING! Records


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More