IMPURE WILHELMINA announce new European tour dates!

IMPURE WILHELMINAare now announcing brand new European tour dates for February 2022! The ‘Antidote Europe Tour’ kicks off at the Périscope venue in Lyon (France) and sees the band traveling throughout 4 more countries until a final run of 5 Italian shows together with SHORES OF NULL. A full list of confirmed dates can be found below.

The band comments on the tour: “We’ve been waiting for too long. The time has come to hit the road again and perform our new album on European stages. Let’s hope that our own ANTIDOTE will open the doors of the continent to share our music with you. Can’ t wait to see you again.

‘Antidote’ is still available in various formats HERE

18 Dec 21 Lausanne (CH) Les Docks (+Samael + Bølzer)
10 Feb 22 Lyon (FR) Périscope
11 Feb 22 Paris (FR) Cirque électrique
12 Feb 22 Lille (FR) La Malterie
13 Feb 22 Liège (BE) La Zone
15 Feb 22 Siegen (DE) Vortex Surfer
17 Feb 22 Dresden (DE) Chemiefabrik
18 Feb 22 Braunschweig (DE) Nexus
19 Feb 22 Linz (AT) Kapu
22 Feb 22 Torino (IT) Magazzino Sul Po (+Shores of Null)
23 Feb 22 Genova (IT) Sudore (+Shores of Null)
24 Feb 22 Roma (IT) Traffic Club (+Shores of Null)
25 Feb 22 Mezzago (IT) Bloom (+Shores of Null)
26 Feb 22 Montagnana (IT) Bahnhof, (+Shores of Null)

IMPURE WILHELMINA will be playing in support of their freshly released album ‘Antidote’, which can be heard in full HERE. The cover artwork and further album information can be found below.

1. Solitude (6:20)
2. Midlife Hollow (5:24)
3. Gravel (4:50)
4. Dismantling (4:58)
5. Jasmines (5:40)
6. Vicious (4:03)
7. Torrent (4:38)
8. Unpredicted Sky (7:52)
9. Antidote (1:40)
10. Everything Is Vain (7:19)
Total: 52:44

Music heals the soul, as it always has. “Antidote” evokes this simple idea, illustrating the cathartic aspect of IMPURE WILHELMINA‘s 7th full length. It acts as a remedy against the darker sides of the human mind.

For 25 years, IMPURE WILHELMINA has been creating a singular music on the borders of rock and metal. The Geneva quartet has never been afraid to reinvent itself and to push back the stylistic barriers, without ever losing its strong identity. Intensity, melody, power and melancholy are the key words that guide the band’s discography, shaping record after record a subtle blend of metal, post-hardcore, new wave and indie rock sounds.

IMPURE WILHELMINA has experienced many line-up changes over the years around Michael Schindl, singer-guitarist, main composer and lyricist. Founded in 1996, the group quickly built a reputation in the local, then Swiss and European independent scenes. 

IMPURE WILHELMINA has regularly collaborated with sound engineers and producers Serge Morattel (I Can’t Believe I Was Born In July – 2001, L’Amour, La Mort, L’Enfance Perdue – 2004, Prayers And Arsons – 2008) and Raphaël Bovey (Black Honey – 2014, Radiation – 2017). These five albums illustrate the constant musical evolution of the band, which from a very dark and metal base gradually incorporates more rock elements. The clear vocals occupy an increasingly important place in the compositions, reinforcing the intensity and melodic depth.

In 2015, thanks to the great response to Black Honey, IMPURE WILHELMINA  signed with the reference metal label Season of Mist, which published ‘Radiation’ two years later in 2017. Skilfully navigating between melodies and dissonances, always at the service of raw emotion, this sixth album was unanimously acclaimed by the press and the public, opening the doors to wider recognition.

After intensely touring all over Europe to promote ‘Radiation’, the band received great reward by being one of the four recipients of the 2019 grants for contemporary music awarded by the City of Geneva. This support has allowed Impure Wilhelmina to approach their new album with confidence and the will to develop their sound and get out of their comfort zone. The band put a lot of efforts in the elaboration and production of its new songs, notably by calling on Yvan Bing, producer and sound engineer, to accompany the four musicians throughout the creation process of the album. This successful collaboration began in the summer of 2019 and continued for over a year, giving rise to IMPURE WILHELMINA‘s seventh album, ‘Antidote’.

In the context of the pandemic that marked part of the recording of ‘Antidote’ and its long completion, this title also resonates in a very particular way. Welcome to this journey into uncharted musical lands.

Michael Schindl – Vocals/Guitars
Diogo Almeida – Guitars
Sébastien Dutruel – Bass
Mario Togni – Drums

Related posts

IMPURE WILHELMINA kick off first 2022 European tour dates!


IMPURE WILHELMINA release live video for ‘Jasmines’


IMPURE WILHELMINA stream full album in advance of the release date


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.