PURE WRATH – album details disclosed

On February 18th, the Indonesian Black Metal band PURE WRATH will release its third album, “Hymn To The Woeful Hearts“. The successor to the 2020 released EP “The Forlorn Soldier” perfectly balances howls of primal rage with tear-stained, hymnal sung passages, simultaneously vicious and yearning guitar-work, poignant synth, evocative acoustics and heartfelt thematic realism.

Today, Debemur Morti Productions unveil the cover artwork of artist Aghy Purakusuma as well as the track list of “Hymn To The Woeful Hearts“:

Track list:

01. The Cloak Of Disquiet
02. Years Of Silence
03. Presages From A Restless Soul
04. Footprints Of The Lost Child
05. Those Who Stand Still
06. Hymn To The Woeful Hearts

Multi-instrumentalist and composer Januaryo Hardy narrates about the cover artwork:

Losing loved ones is painful, especially if they died tragically. For more than fifty years, a mother has to fight all the urges of revenge while being left behind with endless questions. Once again, cover artist Aghy Purakusuma perfectly translates the story in a heart-wrenching way, portraying the mother’s struggle during years of living dangerously under the shadows of the tyrant. To stand on her weak legs and walk through the rest of the darkest years in her life, letting all the memories of a home she called ‘family’ burn down to ashes. This album portrays one of hundreds of tragic stories that may have never been told or brought to the surface, with hope for the recent generation to open their eyes and look for justice.

Hymn To The Woeful Hearts” will be released on February 18th and pre-orders will begin via the label’s EU, US and Bandcamp shops on December 3rd.

Indonesian PURE WRATH began in mid-2014 as a primitive black metal solo project of multi-instrumentalist Ryo. Starting in 2016, Ryo began to shift the lyrical and thematic content of PURE WRATH to be more in line with his own life and family history. This paradigm shift resulted in the debut record, “Ascetic Eventide,”released in 2017 through the Indonesian label Hitam Kelam Records, selling out within four months.

Following the success and positive feedback of the debut, Ryo was contacted by the Mexican label Throats Productions to arrange a vinyl rerelease of “Ascetic Eventide.” Not long after, the split release “Endless Journey” between PURE WRATH and French symphonic black metal project ONIRISM was released through Throats Productions at the end of 2017.

In mid-2018, Ryo began writing what would become the second PURE WRATH record, “Sempiternal Wisdom.” It was released in October 2018 through Pest Productions in China and Hitam Kelam Records in Indonesia.

As of 2019, Ryo is ready to bring PURE WRATH to a live setting and created a follow up EP to “Sempiternal Wisdom.” Proudly released via Debemur Morti Productions in 2020, the EP “The Forlorn Soldier” served as a bridge to the upcoming PURE WRATH full length record, and featured Yurii Kononov (ex-WHITE WARD) as a session drummer. With “Hymn To The Woeful Hearts”, PURE WRATH will unleash their third album on February 18th, 2022.

Related posts

PURE WRATH – “Hymn To The Woeful Hearts” out now


PURE WRATH album stream unveiled


PURE WRATH unleash new track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.