HOLLOW WOODS premiere new track at

Finnish black metallers Hollow Woods premiere the new track “A Frozen Glance” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s  highly anticipated debut album, Cold Winds Cleave the Earth, set for international release on December 21st via Signal Rex. Hear Hollow Woods‘ “A Frozen Glance” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

After 2019’s well-received Endless Trails demo via Signal RexHollow Woods strike with a full-length debut fittingly titled Cold Winds Cleave the Earth. While hailing from Finland, this mysterious entity largely eschew their homeland’s reigning black metal idiom, instead taking influence from Ukraine (Roman Saenko’s projects), Norway (early Ulver, equally early Gorgoroth), and especially Russia (the Blazebirth Hall collective). In other words, pure & proud BLACK METAL, nevertheless done with personality and charisma.

Cold Winds Cleave the Earth boldly and brazenly displays Hollow Woods‘ full potential across its six-song/39-minute duration. Epic but never belabored, physical but finessed, straightforward but never simplistic: no gimmicks, just hateful black metal. Hollow Woods are always working within the framework of devotion to the primal world and nature mysticism; both can be felt, subtly but assured, across the entirety of Cold Winds Cleave the Earth. The artwork and inspiration for the album’s theme stems from Finnish linguist and ethnographer Kai Donner (1888-1935), taken during his expeditions to Siberia.

So pure, so cold, so boundless within its boundaries: Hollow Woods present a new grim majesty with Cold Winds Cleave the Earth.

In the meantime, hear the brand-new track “A Frozen Glance” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Also hear the previously revealed “Evergreen Vigil” HERE at Signal Rex‘s Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Hollow Woods’ Cold Winds Cleave the Earth
1. Cold Winds Cleave the Earth
2. A Frozen Glance
3. Evergreen Vigil
4. Transcendent Echoes
5. Glacial Hell
6. To the Shrouded Shores


Related posts

HOLLOW WOODS stream SIGNAL REX debut album at Black Metal Promotion


HOLLOW WOODS set release date for SIGNAL REX debut, reveal first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.