THE DESIGN ABSTRACT Align Sci-Fi Elements w/ Melodic Death Metal In Music Video “Aberration Omega”

Out Now! New Album “Metemtechnosis” via Abstrakted Records

L-R – Matt Ngo (Guitar) | Voiicide (Vocals, Bass, Synth) | Logan Mayhem (Guitar, Synth)
Photo Credit: Tami Martin

Canada’s The Design Abstract has released a new music video for “Aberration Omega” off the newly released “Metemtechnosis”. For those who haven’t heard the band previously, it’s tough to explain the sound, past the succinct description of “science fiction based symphonic melodic death metal”. Standing alone among their contemporaries with a very distinct and unique sound, Voiicide (vocals/bass/programming) who originally started the band as a solo project, shares his thoughts on the track:

“I can’t describe this track without using the term “absolute banger” so we’ll just get that out of the way now. “Aberration Omega” is a display of everything the band is capable of in a neat 3.5-minute capsule. Epic orchestra, electro-industrial elements, soaring clean vocals, brutal lows, and of course truly impressive guitar work, all set to express the anthemic sound of rebellion. It tells of the formation of the rebel group that forms to rise up against the tyrannical reign of their oppressors.”

According to Voiicide, this album is a big improvement from the last, “Technotheism”, the first in the trilogy of albums. On this album, they took a gamble with the mixing and brought the guitar into the forefront and buried some of the scorings. Thus, in a way, this album more deeply explores the sound of TDA as a guitar-based compositional entity, instead of being so reliant on orchestral and electronic elements. Lyrical themes throughout the band’s discography take inspiration from Dan Simmon’s Hyperion Cantos, Cixin Liu’s Three-Body Problem trilogy, as well as classics like Gibson’s Neuromancer, and of course The Matrix.

Like the rest of The Design Abstract’s songs, “Aberration Omega” is layers of cinematic scoring, heavy riffs and a wide array of vocals from harsh gutturals to soaring cleans. The sci-fi laden symphonic melodeath is recommended for fans of SepticFlesh, Divine Disorder and Scar Symmetry.

The video for “Aberration Omega” can be viewed via its premiere on NewFuryMedia HERE

All songs on “Metemtechnosis” were written and performed by Voiicide (vocals/bass/programming), Logan Mayhem (guitars/modular synthesis), and Matt Ngo (guitars). It was produced, mixed, and mastered by Voiicide at Abstrakted Records and the album artwork was done by Yuta Shimpo.

“Metemtechnosis” is available via Abstrakted Records on Design.bandcamp.comSpotifyApple Music.

Lyric Video – Born of Machines –

Track Listing:
1. Digital Dawn (8:03)
2. Born of Machines (4:35)
3. The Hybrid Awakening (7:07)
4. Organic Data Fusion (5:45)
5. Metropolis II (4:42)
6. Aberration Omega (3:33)
7. Upheaval (Instrumental) (2:00)
8. Sentinels (3:10)
9. Decryptor (6:32)
Album Length: 45:31

Album Band Line Up:
Voiicide – Vocals, Bass, Scoring/Sampling/Programming
Logan Mayhem – Guitars, Modular synthesis
Matt Ngo – Guitars

For more info: 

Related posts

THE DESIGN ABSTRACT Complete The Technotheism Trilogy With ‘Transhuman Ascendant’


THE DESIGN ABSTRACT Posts Video w/ New Line Up Performing “The Hybrid Awakening” Off Album “Metemtechnosis” (Abstrakted Records)


THE DESIGN ABSTRACT Is Now Streaming Their Sci-Fi Epic “Metemtechnosis”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More