ASTROPHOBOS to have new album released on CD by PERSONAL RECORDS – streaming in full now

On February 4th, 2022 internationally, Personal Records is proud to present Astrophobos‘ highly anticipated third album, Corpus, on CD format.

Corpus is not just the third full-length by Swedish black metal band Astrophobos; it’s a cross-disciplinary collaboration spanning over several years where sculpture, photography, and music intermingle to explore themes of impermanence, death, and decay. Teaming up with artists Lisa Wallert and Morgan Norman, the band ventured into these concepts, taking inspiration from their work to write both music and lyrics. The artwork of Wallert and Norman can be found on the cover of the Corpus album and throughout the layout of the gatefold vinyl record, to be released by Triumvirate Records. The collaboration culminated in an exhibition/live show that took place in Stockholm on November 13th.

Since their formation back in 2009, Astrophobos have been accoladed for their melodic-yet-brutal offerings. Their previous album, 2019’s Malice of Antiquity, was widely hailed as the band’s most varied and notable output to date. With CorpusAstrophobos take things one step further, adding new and unexpected elements to their songwriting. This also includes the lyrics, which for the first time are entirely in Swedish.

Vocalist and lyricist Micke Broman explains: “The works of Morgan and Lisa were very evocative around concepts like annihilation and fear of death, and since you are always closest to your mother tongue, it felt like the lyrics would be able to reach a stronger connection to their works if I wrote them in Swedish.”

The album was mixed and mastered by Marco Mastrobueno (Fleshgod Apocalypse, Hour of Penance) at Kick Recording Studios, and features session drums by Simon Samuelsson (ex-Ofermod) as well as guest vocals by Elisabetta Marchetti (Inno, ex-Riti Occulti).

Originally released digitally on November 12th by Triumvirate Records, Personal Records is honored, as longtime fans of Astrophobos, to release Corpus on CD format worldwide. Melodic black metal, modern or otherwise, doesn’t get more masterful than this!

Stream Corpus in its entirety HERE at Personal Records‘Bandcamp. Preorder info can be found HERE. Aforementioned cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Astrophobos’ Corpus
1. Corpus
2. Utrotning
3. Till Djupet
4. Nattvard
5. Svärta
6. Liktal
7. Under Jord


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.