CRADLE OF FILTH – Existence Is Futile

To be honest, I’m a bit behind on Cradle of Filth. I’ve probably listened to “Damnation and a Day” a lot, and that was back in the old days. Well of course “Midian” is a all time favorite, I won’t deny that. I wondered how a new Cradle record would affect me after all these years. It is a fact that they have their independent style from the beginning, period. However, I don’t know what the previous albums sound like, but with strong preconceptions I was guessing some kind of childish vampire movie soundtrack. I was really punched in the face, because this is massive metal. The songs are dominated by excellent riffs, there’s no ramble. The tempo is right, and the songs are catchy and varied. The only problem is that the the album is a bit long. Fortunately Dani doesn’t force his high screams, but he is on the record more than he should be. The solos are flawless, although I would skip the female vocals.

So this is still the infamous Cradle soundscape, what you can easily recognize, but in a better from than ever. I like their new approach.


1. The Fate of the World on Our Shoulders
2. Existential Terror
3. Necromantic Fantasies
4. Crawling King Chaos
5. Here Comes a Candle... (Infernal Lullaby)
6. Black Smoke Curling from the Lips of War
7. Discourse Between a Man and His Soul
8. The Dying of the Embers
9. Ashen Mortality
10. How Many Tears to Nurture a Rose?
11. Suffer Our Dominion
12. Us, Dark, Invincible

Related posts

Extreme Metal Icons CRADLE OF FILTH Sign Worldwide Contract with Napalm Records


CRADLE OF FILTH – announce UK/European tour with ALCEST in October


CRADLE OF FILTH – announce ‘The Infernal Vernal Equinox’ show stream for 20th March!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.