SHAKE THE TEMPLE – Announce New Music Video The Devil’s Approach

Hot on the heels of their debut album, Australia’s Shake The Temple has announced the release of their second music video for their latest track ‘The Devil’s Approach’.

A colossal production filmed in a secret location; this music video is something to behold.

A cinematic, movie-like setting in a maze of giant timber pillars- the video conjures up memories of 70’s horror and vintage metal that reflects on the nature of this new band. Bringing such theatre so rarely seen in music videos these days, it is a credit to the trio that they can break the norms for a band hailing from a usually restrained local rock scene.

 According to lead singer John Joseph, the production was originally a pipe dream.

“I wanted to capture the origins of the song and I knew it was going to be a big effort, so I started with a storyboard, then shared it with our video director, and incredibly he had the balls to take it on!”, laughed Joseph.

Showing you do not need a Hollywood budget to pull off a cinematic feat, SHAKE THE TEMPLE’s sheer determination, vision and creativity is on full display.

From the ‘Stranger Things’ teenage victim to the evil-eyed villain, The Devil’s Approach music video commands attention right to the very end. Incredibly well filmed and edited, supported by a powerful live performance by the band – It is a video release not to be missed.

Order the new album here:

John Josephc – Lead Vocals & Guitars
Damian Cutler – Bass & Vocals
Dave Emms – Drums


Shake The Temple staked its arrival in late 2018 with the release of its debut single, Huntsman. The heavy-hitting single mixed sweeping melodies with fuming guitars are reminiscent of the 70s and 80s vintage metal.

But the Melbourne trio flipped things soon after, following up with an anthemic take on the city’s obsession with cosmetic surgery. Martini confirmed the versatility of the band, mixing spacious guitars with clever lyrics casting a darker light on high society.

The singles were supported by the band’s first live shows around Melbourne.
Sadly, the band’s progress was brought to a sudden halt when lead singer and songwriter John Joseph suffered a brain aneurysm in February 2020.
Admitted to emergency surgery, the project was left to wait until he recovered. Yet, despite the seriousness of the operation, Joseph was inspired to continue the project and from his bed, orchestrated the release of 3 further singles in quick-fire succession.

With three demos left in his arsenal, Joseph recruited video production guru Daniel Armstrong and together they produced 3 lyric videos to support the singles – all whilst the world went into lockdown due to the coronavirus pandemic.
Who I Am was released in May 2020, followed by Precious Lover just six weeks later in June 2020, and then the simmering If You And I Could Make It in July of the same year. Though the band still hadn’t featured in any of the videos at that time (due to COVID lockdowns and Joseph’s health), it would at least showcase the music.

This inspired move not only spawned three more cracking heavy rock tunes – but attracted the interest of Sliptrick Records in Europe. The band subsequently signed to the label.

After Joseph’s recovery, the band returned to the studio to record two more tracks to complete what will be a 9 song debut album on the Sliptrick Records label.

In 2021 Shake The Temple are set to release their debut album and return to the live circuit, with plans to tour Europe.


1. Huntsman
2. The Devil’s Approach
3. If You And I Could Make It
4. Precious Lover
5. Who I Am
6. Late Indicator
7. Martini
8. Driven
9. Fist Of Love

Order the Album here:

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.