THRASH LA REINE New Lyric Video For French Canadian Folktale “La Chasse-Galerie”

Out Now! French Canadian Folklore Album “Notre-Dame-de-l’Enfer”

Montreal’s Thrash La Reine released their latest “Notre-Dame-de-l’Enfer” this past October via Bam&Co. Heavy. The full-length is the third release from the band following “La Foi, La Loi, La Croix” (2019) and “Le Métal Est Notre Langue” (2018). The concept album, produced by producer Francis Perron (Voivod – The Wake), is Thrash La Reine‘s metal opera about French Canadian folklores presented over thirteen heavy metal bangers, 9 full songs, and 4 instrumental interludes. Overall, the album will connect with many Francophone fans, but the band’s goal is to also expose French Canadian culture to more metalheads around the globe no matter their language.

“Metal is universal, no matter what language it is vocally and lyrically presented in. On ‘Notre-Dame-de-l’Enfer’, these French Canadian folk tales are all about ghosts, witches, sins, and the devil himself! It fits really well with the metal imagery! The album touches on a lot of different styles: fast, slow, sad, happy songs with either coarse or clean vocals.We also incorporated some traditional instruments on this album with the use of mandolin, acoustic guitar, strings, accordion, and cowbell along with singing and harmonies that are reminiscent of traditional chants.” adds the band.

Today, the trio shares their latest lyric video for their interpretation of the popular French Canadian folktale “La Chasse Galerie”, also known as “The Bewitched Canoe” or “The Flying Canoe”, which is the story of the Coureurs des Bois who make a deal with the devil, a variant of the European fable Wild Hunt.

“La Chasse-Galerie is probably the most well-known French Canadian folktale. This legend tells the story of woodcutters who make a pact with the devil on new year’s eve, so they can fly on a mystical canoe to go visit their girlfriend and party with their friends! Musically speaking, this track starts in a darker energetic mood. But in the middle, when the crew arrives at the party, the mood of the song changes to something more joyful!”

Watch and listen to “La Chasse Galerie” at 

ThrashLa Reine is recommended for fans of Alestorm, Powerwolf, and King Diamond.

The album can now be streamed and downloaded on the following platforms: Thrashlareine.bandcamp.comSpotifyApple Music.

Previous Videos:
Music Video – Au Chant de L’Alouette –
Lyric Video – La Cage de Fer –

Track Listing:
1. La Plainte de l’Alouette (0:36)
2. L’Étranger (4:32)
3. La Chasse-Galerie (4:29)
4. Le Rigodon de l’Enfer (0:25)
5.  Au Chant de l’Alouette (3:00)
6. Wendigo (3:36)
7. La Cage de Fer (4:02)
8. Une Heure Avant l’Aube (1:06)
9. Operation Neptune (3:25)
10. Les Trois Diables (4:42)
11. Le Diable En Personne (0:33)
12. Le Fantome de l’Avare (4:35)
13. Legende d’Antan (7:27)
Album Length: 42:34

For more info: 

Related posts

THRASH LA REINE Shares Next Tale of Quebec Folklore w/ Metal Fans In New Video “La Cage de Fer”


THRASH LA REINE Signs w/ Bam&Co. Heavy For Release of New Album “Notre-Dame-de-l’Enfer”


THRASH LA REINE New Music Video For Traditional French Canadian Singalong “Au Chant de l’Alouette”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More