Decibel Magazine streams a stunning song off the ambitious new WOMBBATH record

This Wombbath album is easily one their best albums in their illustrious discography and it’s now being widely regarded as such too, and it’s not hard to see why – they’re expanding on their classic sound in drastic ways but without diluting it, and the result is astonishing. Decibel Magazine thought so too in their premiere that can be found AT THIS LINK.

“The band, known mainly for their old-school sensibilities, killer riffs, and classic take on death metal, are not afraid to get experimental on this album with different vocal styles, violins, and tempo switches that create a bold new sound”


– “To call this a triumph is to understate just how brilliant it is” – GBHBL (UK) 10/10

– “The new, more experimental elements serve to elevate and expand their already-brutal sound” – Decibel Magazine (US)

– “Wombbath have mastered the art form of old-school HM-2-powered Swedish-style death metal” – No Clean Singing (US)

– “Wombbath climb to the mountaintop of death metal with this release ready to challenge both the old stalwarts and the trendy new arrivals” – Moshpitnation (US)

– “It’s the pinnacle of death metal in 2021” – Head-Banger Reviews (US)

– “the band’s most diverse, intelligently written and heaviest album” – Metal Purgatory Media 9.5/10 (US)

– “clearly the strongest record in the ongoing series” – Stormbringer (Austria) 4/5

– “gloriously huge and amazingly well executed” – Metal Roos (Germany) 4/5

– “Agma” is a genre monument with little to zero filling material” – Musik Reviews (Germany) 13/15

– “Agma is definitely the best album of the band” – Time For Metal (Germany) 9.3/10

– “apocalyptic heaviness” – Acta Infernalis (France) 90/100

– “Wombbath is more powerful than ever and have delivered a very special album” – The Coroner’s Report (New Zealand) 9/10

– ““Agma” is very heavy, defined and with an excellent job of mixing and mastering” – The Old Coffin Spirit (Portugal) 8.5/10

– “the magnificent album” – RTMB Music (Spain) 8.5/10

– “one of the best death albums of this 2021” – Metal Italia (Italy) 8/10

– “This is definitely of a piece with the old Swedish sound” – Metal Crypt (Canada)

– “the best of their essence and personality. It’s a great way to say goodbye to the year in style” – Dioses del Metal (Spain)

– “Agma is without a doubt Wombbath’s finest achievement in almost 30 years” – The Razors Edge (UK)

– “stunning and endlessly exciting” – Two Guys Metal Reviews (US)

– “Wombbath has created a genuine modern masterpiece in Agma” – A Certain Taste (UK)

– “the album is largely a fun listen” – The Independent Voice (UK) 3.5/5

– “”Agma” is a progressive album in terms of style. Devastating symphony of death” – Deadly Storm Zine (Czech Republic)

– “‘Agma’ is a compilation of years of hard work by Wombbath” – Metal Addiction Webzine (Spain)

– “musically outstanding” – Metal Addicts (Bosnia)

– “Absolutely everything stands out” – Elo Metal (Uruguay)

– “a testament to the timeless quality of their brand of hard-hitting and memorable Swedish death metal” – Masterful Magazine (Poland)

Wombbath (Sweden) – Agma (Death Metal) 

Genre – Death Metal 
Release Date – December 31st, 2021
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records
For fans of: Carnage, Grave, Entombed, Gatecreeper, Revel In Flesh, Heads For The Dead, Hypocrisy, Edge of Sanity, Desultory

After releasing their 30th anniversary release in ‘Tales of Madness’ and giving us a glimpse of their progressive approach in the two new songs that were part of that compilation, Wombbath return with the mightiest album of their career. It lays waste to everything they’ve done in the last few years because this album is a quantum leap ahead. Just when it seemed that the old school death metal genre was stagnating and the whole HM-2 sound was getting redundant, it took the very legends to breathe new life into this style and show us how to evolve without betraying it completely. ‘Agma’ is fiercely experimental in the way it introduces high pitched vocals, violins, and eerie melodies to the firmly old school and robust-sounding pummelling death metal that we’ve come to expect from them, with lurching riffs and grinding parts. To that extent, the refreshing experimental parts not only coexist with the traditional death metal sound but they complement them in ways hitherto unexperienced. Every song on this ambitious double album offers something different, either challenging or unique, and warrants its place on it. It’s exhilarating to listen to these ancient death metal warriors and their brilliant application, which makes even a time-worn genre sound exciting all over again, with constant innovations holding the ability to surprise and overwhelm when newer bands don’t. ‘Agma’ is a tour de force in the style, an anomaly, an aberration which is deliberate and well thought out. It takes exceptional courage to evolve even after so many years, when most so-called legendary bands are doing their best to recreate the same old sound that got them known in the first place, and if only for that reason, Wombbath deserve your attention. It’s another thing that Wombbath have decimated the perception of old school death metal with this album that’s just as potent and captivating as ever.

Line up –
Håkan Stuvemark: Guitar
Jonny Pettersson: Guitar, Vocals
Thomas von Wachenfeldt: Guitar, violin
Jon Rudin: Drums
Matt Davidson: Bass

Tracks 2, 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16 written by Håkan Stuvemark
Tracks 3, 6, 9, 13, 15 written by Jonny Pettersson
Tracks 1 and 7 written by Thomas von Wachenfeldt

Agma was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Jonny Pettersson at Studio Unbound, Sweden.
Additional vocals on Departure from the light: Håkan Stuvemark
Additional vocals on A world of destruction: Thomas von Wachenfeldt

Band painting by Benny Moberg
Wombbath logo and album logo by Håkan Stuvemark

Cover art by Juanjo Castellano (The Black Dahlia MurderPaganizer)

Track listing –

1. The Law Of Everything
2. At The Giant’s Feet
3. The Seventh Seal
4. Inquisition Reborn
5. Blindly They Follow
6. A World Of Destruction
7. Misantropi Och Förakt
8. Breathe In The Flames
9. The Age Of Death
10. Oh Fire Of Hate
11. In Decay They Shall All Fester
12. Divine Pain
13. The Dead And The Dying
14. Departure From The Light
15. Scorned Existence
16. On A Path Of Repulsion

Wombbath Bandcamp

Related posts

Swedish death metal legends WOMBBATH return with a brand new full length on Transcending Obscurity


The Metal Wanderlust premieres massive WOMBBATH track from new release


Swedish death metal legends WOMBBATH premiere gnarly track on Grizzly Butts


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.