Arizona’s THORN premiere new track at “Decibel” magazine’s website – features members of FLUIDS+++

 Arizona death metal cult Thorn premieres the new track “Hellmouth” at Decibel magazine’s website. The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated second album, Yawning Depths, set for international release on February 4th via Chaos Records on CD format; the vinyl LP version will be released later in 2022 while the cassette tape version will be released by Gurgling Gore. Hear Thorn‘s “Hellmouth” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Cavernous, brooding, and bleak, Thorn is a solo project of erstwhile Fluids vocalist Brennen Westermeyer. From the deserts of Phoenix, Thorn specializes in the foreboding and ominous. Weaving elements of death metal, doom, post, and grind, Thorn creates a soundscape for worshipping pagan gods and making offerings to entities unknown.

Since the band’s birth in 2020, Thorn has delivered an EP, a split with Canada’s Fumes, and then the Crawling Worship full-length in 2021. Vast and virulent, Crawling Worship set an impossibly high standard, but already is it eclipsed by the follow-up Yawning Depths. Just like its predecessor, Yawning Depths may maintain a succinct runtime at 25 minutes, but its its feel – its FILTH – is literally gargantuan, a titan of smothering sound and boundless death energy. Death metal and doom may indeed form the foundation to the strident Thorn aesthetic, but Westermeyer wields a surprising creativity within those self-imposed boundaries, evoking a paradoxically wide-open sense of space as well as a wounded melodicism.

Nevertheless, Thorn‘s aim is true: instill waves of ominous dread and bleak hopelessness to all who listen. Yawning Depths is thus aptly titled, for it punctuates that point with an infinitely reverberating vacuum-cum-void.

Cum into that void with the brand-new track “Hellmouth” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Decibel, North America’s only monthly metal magazine. Cum some more with the previously revealed “Cavernous Shrines” HERE at Chaos Records‘ Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Thorn (Arizona)’s Yawning Depths
1. Hellmouth
2. Yawning Depths
3. Cavernous Shrines
4. Noxious Existence
5. Judgement’s Throne
6. Lapis Lazuli
7. Unknown Body of Light
8. Graven Moonglow


Related posts

Arizona’s THORN stream new CHAOS RECORDS album at Death Metal Promotion – features members of FLUIDS+++


Arizona’s THORN set release date for new CHAOS RECORDS album, reveal first track – features members of FLUIDS+++


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.