DARKENED stream new EDGED CIRCLE EP at Death Metal Promotion – features members of GRAVE, MEMORIAM, A CANOROUS QUINTET, EXCRUCIATE+++

Today, pan-international death metal elite Darkened stream their brand-new EP, Mourn the Dying Light, at the Death Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Set for international release on January 7th via Edged Circle Productions on 7″ vinyl format, hear Darkened‘s Mourn the Dying Light in its entirety exclusively HERE.

While Darkened made a none-more-auspicious start with the Into the Blackness EP during the summer of 2019, it was the band’s debut album, Kingdom of Decay, where they literally EXPLODED onto the scene. Proud and pure death metal, no more but definitely no less, it was not at all surprising that Darkened made an immediate impact given their lineup on that debut full-length: drummer Andy Whale (Memoriam, ex-Bolt Thrower), vocalist Gord Olson (Ye Goat-Herd Gods / Demisery), guitarists Linus Nirbrant (A Canorous Quintet / This Ending) and Hempa Brynolfsson (Excruciate / Ordo Inferus), and new bassist Tobias Cristiansson (Grave / ex-Dismember). Patient and punishing, they proved that true songwriting stuns and crushes when practiced by masters of the death metal craft.

Now, as a precursor to a new full-length in 2022, Darkened arrive with the short & VERY sweet Mourn the Dying Light EP. More spacious but somehow heavier, the two songs comprising this record show that this lineup is truly finding their groove – and by “groove,” we most definitely mean those of a tank! Produced, mixed, and mastered by Linus Nibrant, Mourn the Dying Light maintains a most powerful aspect – clear and crushing, as expected, but with a surprising amount of atmosphere which will likely be expanded upon on that forthcoming second album. Says the band, “This EP continues on from where Kingdom Of Decay ended, and clearly sets the tone for the upcoming album. Pushing even further into lyrical darkness, foreboding heaviness, wistful melody, and murderous aggression, Darkened are forging old-school death metal in a melancholic landscape.”

In the leadup to its international release this Friday, hear Mourn the Dying Light in its entirety exclusively HERE, courtesy of the Death Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Preorder info can be found HERE at Edged Circle‘s Bandcamp. Cover artwork, courtesy of Juanjo Castellano Rosado (Unleashed, The Black Dalhia Murder, Gates of Ishtar), and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Darkened (International)’s Mourn the Dying Light
1. Black Winter
2. The Slime Runs Down Your Throat

DARKENED lineup 2021
Hempa Brynolfsson – guitar (Excruciate)
Linus Nirbrant – guitar (A Canorous Quintet)
Tobias Cristiansson – bass (Grave, ex-Dismember)
Gord Olson – vocals (Ye Goat Herd Gods)
Andy Whale – drums (Memoriam, ex-Bolt Thrower)


Related posts

DARKENED set release date for new EDGED CIRCLE EP, reveal first track – features members of GRAVE, MEMORIAM, A CANOROUS QUINTET, EXCRUCIATE+++


DARKENED stream EDGED CIRCLE debut album at “Deaf Forever” magazine’s website – features members of GRAVE, MEMORIAM, A CANOROUS QUINTET, EXCRUCIATE+++


DARKENED reveal new lyric video – features members of GRAVE, MEMORIAM, A CANOROUS QUINTET, EXCRUCIATE+++


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.