AESTHUS set release date for PURITY THROUGH FIRE debut, reveal first track

Today, Purity ThroughFire announces March 21st as the international release date for Aesthus‘ highly anticipated debut album, Hänen temppelinsä varjoissa, on CD and cassette tape formats. The vinyl LP version will follow later in the year.

One of the most striking newcomers in the ever-fertile Finnish black metal underground, Aesthus formed in 2017 and released their first demo, Polku, in the summer of 2020, which Purity ThroughFire released later that year. Already, the freezing fire of paradigmatic Finnish black metal burned brightly, and now that blaze coalesces into a conflagration on Aesthus‘ debut full-length, Hänen temppelinsä varjoissa.

Proud and pure, Hänen temppelinsä varjoissa exudes that aura of classic Finnish black metal from the late ’90s onward, as laid down by the likes of Horna, Satanic Warmaster, and Azaghal among others. Black metal doesn’t need to “be” anything more than what it already IS – or what it should be – and such is the case with Aesthus. Every element here, from the melancholically melodic riffing to the surging ‘n’ swirling battery to, the distinctly twisted timbre of the Finnish tongue, of course, is in perfect, precise, PASSIONATE lockstep to create a maelstrom of hypnotic-yet-hummable proportions. Indeed, Hänen temppelinsä varjoissa is the work of a true band – meaning, a group of people playing together rather than a disconnected file-sharing project – with each of these seven songs drench in literal blood and sweat and perhaps alcohol. If there’s one trump card that Aesthus play (and poignantly), it’s their dual-guitar lead work; the lead lines explode with memorability and malice in equal measure, underlining the METAL in black metal but never belaboring the point.

Like the album cover’s lone figure pondering mysteries only known to him, Aesthus prefigure a new era of strength & honor with Hänen temppelinsä varjoissa.

Enter that new era with the brand-new track “Vihani alttarilta” HERE at Purity Through Fire‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Aesthus’ Hänen temppelinsä varjoissa
1. Hänen temppelinsä varjoissa
2. Vihani alttarilta
3. Kuolonpolku
4. Jälkeläinen
5. Verta Saatanalle
6. Ikiyössä
7. Tyhjyys, ikuinen kuolema


Related posts

AESTHUS reveal new track from PURITY THROUGH FIRE debut


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More