Greek OSDM stalwarts ABYSSUS premiere new track via The Metal Wanderlust

Abyssus are on the verge of releasing one of the strongest old school death metal albums this year. They’re taking the best elements of the classic late ’80s/early ’90s bands and reinterpreting things their own way, with added oomph. The Metal Wanderlust unveiled yet another song that can be heard AT THIS LINK

“Taking its cues from the likes of Obituary, Slayer, Master, and Asphyx, “Metal of Death” serves as proof that Abyssus can stand quite comfortably alongside the best of the best.”


– “Abyssus have made the ideal OSDM or death thrash album” – The Metal Observer (Canada) 9.5/10

– “Abyssus can stand quite comfortably alongside the best of the best.” – The Metal Wanderlust (US)

– “Excellent” – The Killchain (UK)

– “one of the most punchy records of 2022” – Metal Purgatory (US) 9/10

– “an ideal album for those people who love the most classic Death Metal” – Dioses Del Metal (Spain)

– “a truly standout listen” – Head-Banger Reviews (US)

– “they’ve learned from the best and have taken up the mantle” – Mead Mead Metal (US)

– “a great album” – The Razor’s Edge (UK)

– “the songcraft of Abyssus has been impressive, but they seem to just get better and better” – No Clean Singing (US)

– “Abyssus only swears by riffs” – Acta Infernalis (France) 85/100

– “offer more musical explosion and headbanging” – Brutal View (Greece) 8.5/10

– “ridiculously enjoyable” – Worship Metal (UK) 8/10

– “Highly recommended for any old-school fan.” – Wonderbox Metal (UK)

– ” a stirring obituary for the pioneering days of Death & Thrash” – Saitenkult (Germany) 8/10

– “riff obsessed immersion” – Grizzly Butts (US)

– “a very successful mixture with a lot of fun and a certain wit” – Time For Metal (Germany) 8/10

– “impressive and powerful” – The Dark Melody (Spain) 7.7/10

– “Absolutely catchy Thrash Speed ​​Death Metal” – Stormbringer (Austria) 3.5/5

– “For us, death metal archaeologists, this is another great casket.” – Deadly Storm (Czech Republic)

– “full of dynamism” – Metallerium (Spain) 7.5/10

– “an album with all the brash heaviness to wake up even the most sluggish of revivalists” – GBHBL (UK)

– “it’s tasty” – RTBM (Mexico)

Abyssus (Greece) – Death Revival (Death Metal)

Genre – Death Metal 
Release Date – January 21th, 2022
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records

For fans of – Obituary, Possessed, Slayer, Malevolent Creation, Death, Morgoth, Solstice, Deicide, Bolt Thrower, Hail of Bullets

Starting off as a band playing a much faster, thrashier and crustier version of Obituary, Greek death metal band Abyssus have come a long way. Their music is now absolutely formidable; it’s impeccably structured and flawlessly executed without any compromises on the vision. The passion and spirit are still there but channelled brilliantly, in a far more mature and powerful setting, with a sound that they’ve honed to perfection using liberal doses of thrash metal elements. While hearkening back to the glory days of the late ’80s/early ’90s, Abyssus do more than just revel in the recreation of that sound but imbibe elements unique to their music and create a compelling expression that not only does justice to it but sets standards on how it is to be done. To that effect, ‘Death Revival’ will go down as an iconic album where the style of classic death metal goes in this era.

Line up –
Konstantinos Analytis – Vocals
Panos Gkourmpaliotis – Guitar
Konstantinos Ragiadakos – Bass
Jan Westermann – Drums
Chris Liakos – Guitar

Album artwork by Andreas Marschall (ObituaryDestruction)

Track listing –
1. Metal Of Death
2. The Ten Commandments
3. Uncertain Future
4. The Beast Within
5. Genocide
6. The Witch
7. When Wolves Are Out To Hunt

Official Video Stream

Official Video

Abyssus Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Site

Transcending Obscurity Official YouTube Channel

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

Abyssus Facebook

Related posts

Greek death/thrash metal band ABYSSUS premiere new song through No Clean Singing


Greek death metal powerhouse ABYSSUS return with a massive new album


ABYSSUS – Greek Death Metal band feature Premiere song “Relics of the Past” at No Clean Singing site


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.