KUOLEMANLAAKSO release the second single from the crushing doom metal album Kuusumu

The Finnish death doom spearhead Kuolemanlaakso, starring vocalist Mikko Kotamäki (Swallow the Sun), have unleashed the second single from their upcoming album Kuusumu. The song, titled Tulessakävelijä, closes the album on an epic note and is the first one to feature both Kotamäki and Aleksi Munter (Swallow the Sun, Insomnium, Ghost Brigade) since 2015. Guitarist-songwriter Laakso says:

-“Tulessakävelijä is the album’s massive closing track. Musically it explores heavy and oriental atmospheres. The chorus line ‘Pilvistä verta sataa’ (‘Blood is falling from the clouds’) refers to Chinese texts from the mid-530s which depict people actually believing it was raining blood. It seems more likely that a volcanic eruption, which blackened and cooled the sun for one and a half years, colored the rain blood-red with its ash.”

-“The orchestration, reminiscent of the soundtrack of Conan, was conjured by Aleksi Munter (Swallow the Sun, Insomnium, Ghost Brigade), with whom I produced and arranged Kuusumu’s keyboards. Kotamäki displays completely new aspects of his clean vocals on this track. This might actually be the first song since Swallow the Sun’s triple album Songs from the North (2015) where Munter and Kotamäki perform together.”

Tulessakävelijä’s lyric video was created by Hans-Peter Weckman. “We immediately reached a consensus on the execution and color scheme. Great guy, great video,” comments Laakso.

Kuusumu is Kuolemanlaakso’s first album in eight years and their most versatile work to date. In addition to the traditional Kuolemanlaakso heaviness, the album contains fast and bombastic material. The album was co-produced, mixed, mastered and engineered by the Triptykon and Dark Fortress guitarist V. Santura, with whom the band has worked with on all of their releases. The female vocals were performed by Lotta Ruutiainen from Luna Kills.

Kuusumu will be released in 2022 via Svart Records, with the CD version releasing on April 3 and vinyl following on July 29. The second digital single, Tulessakävelijä, will be released on Friday, January 21. The lyric video is, however, watchable right now on Svart’s YouTube channel:

 21.1. Kuolemanlaakso: Tulessakävelijä (digital pre-order)

Kuolemanlaakso: Kuusumu (CD/LP) pre-order link

The previous Kuolemanlaakso record Tulijoutsen (2014), reached the 10th place on Finland’s official album list and was selected as one of the best records of the year in numerous music publications, including SoundiRumbaKaaoszine and


Kotamäki – vocals
Laakso – guitar, backing vocals
Kouta – guitar
Usva – bass
Tiera – drums


Uljas uusi maailma (2012)
Musta aurinko nousee (EP, 2013)
Tulijoutsen (2014)
Kuusumu (2022)

Related posts

KUOLEMANLAAKSO to release their first album in eight years!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.