Arizona’s THORN stream new CHAOS RECORDS album at Death Metal Promotion – features members of FLUIDS+++

Today, Arizona death metal cult Thorn streams the entirety of its highly anticipated second album, Yawning Depths, at the Death Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Set for international release on February 4th via Chaos Records on CD format – the vinyl LP version will be released later in 2022 while the cassette tape version will be released by Gurgling Gore – hear Thorn‘s Yawning Depths in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Cavernous, brooding, and bleak, Thorn is a solo project of erstwhile Fluids vocalist Brennen Westermeyer. From the deserts of Phoenix, Thorn specializes in the foreboding and ominous. Weaving elements of death metal, doom, post, and grind, Thorn creates a soundscape for worshipping pagan gods and making offerings to entities unknown.

Since the band’s birth in 2020, Thorn has delivered an EP, a split with Canada’s Fumes, and then the Crawling Worship full-length in 2021. Vast and virulent, Crawling Worship set an impossibly high standard, but already is it eclipsed by the follow-up Yawning Depths. Just like its predecessor, Yawning Depths may maintain a succinct runtime at 25 minutes, but its its feel – its FILTH – is literally gargantuan, a titan of smothering sound and boundless death energy. Death metal and doom may indeed form the foundation to the strident Thorn aesthetic, but Westermeyer wields a surprising creativity within those self-imposed boundaries, evoking a paradoxically wide-open sense of space as well as a wounded melodicism.

Nevertheless, Thorn‘s aim is true: instill waves of ominous dread and bleak hopelessness to all who listen. Yawning Depths is thus aptly titled, for it punctuates that point with an infinitely reverberating vacuum-cum-void.

Fully cum into that void exclusively HERE, courtesy of the Death Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Thorn (Arizona)’s Yawning Depths
1. Hellmouth
2. Yawning Depths
3. Cavernous Shrines
4. Noxious Existence
5. Judgement’s Throne
6. Lapis Lazuli
7. Unknown Body of Light
8. Graven Moonglow


Related posts

Death metal band THORN unleash devastating new track via Toilet ov Hell


US death metal band THORN come up with an enthralling new full length


Arizona’s THORN premiere new track at “Decibel” magazine’s website – features members of FLUIDS+++


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More