syk – To Unleash “Pyramiden” Full-Length On March 11th Via Housecore Records/Nuclear Blast; New Track Streaming + Preorders Available

[Photo by Digital Tusk]

Italian avant extreme metal collective syk will unleash their long-awaited new full-length, “Pyramiden“, on March 11th via Housecore Records in North America and Nuclear Blast in Europe, today unveiling the record’s cover art, track listing, and first single!

syk, featuring founding guitarist and principal songwriter Stefano Ferrian (ex-Psychofagist), vocalist Dalila Kayros, rhythm/lead guitarist Marcello Cravini, and new recruit, drummer Mauro Maraldo (ex-Onirik), has been scorching ears and torching souls for nearly a decade. Led by the nihilistic vocal assault of Kayros, syk is at once grim and complex; relentless and alluring, fusing the tight, rhythmic pummeling of Meshuggah with the haunting melodies of Bjork.

Following their debut LP “Atoma” (2014), the band released their second effort, “I-Optikon”, on Housecore Records (2016). Produced by Philip H. Anselmo, “I-Optikon” reaped critical accolades from fans and critics in the know. Lauded New Noise Magazine, “We just haven’t heard anything even remotely like this before – and I don’t think we’re going to forget it anytime soon.” Echoing Magazine championed, “Female vocals that carry a yell like Exene Cervenka, as done with the same power as Henry Rollins,” while Skulls ‘N’ Bones likened the listen to, “…a trip through the empty, shattered halls of someone’s emotional insane asylum,” adding, “it’s music to swallow glass by.

And with 2022 comes the band’s third full-length “Pyramiden”. Composed and recorded over the course of three years, the seven-track offering was mixed in the Winter of 2020/2021 at Inverno Studios under the supervision of Fabrizio Gesuato, while mastering took place at Anselmo’s own Nodferatu’s Lair with Stephen Berrigan at the helm. The record features artwork by Elena Romenkova.

Comments Ferrian, “’Pyramiden’ is about finding the way to isolate oneself to all the uneasiness coming from society, then find a suitable space to face one’s uneasiness. It’s being in the farthest place on earth where silence gives room to all sorts of visions or hallucinations. As with the previous release, ‘Pyramiden’ follows the alchemic principle of dissolving in order to assume a new shape but diving far deeper into obscurity where surviving means, in fact, to invent light into darkness.

In advance of the record’s release, today syk unveils its title track, “Pyramiden.” Watch the video for the track at THIS LOCATION.

“Pyramiden” will be released on CD and digitally with a vinyl addition to follow at a later dates. Find physical preorders at THIS LOCATION and digital preorders HERE

“Pyramiden” Track Listing:

1. Pyramiden

2. The Palest White

3. The Hollow Mother

4. Zoas

5. Promethean

6. When Fire Fell Into Water

7. Cell Of The Sun


Dalila Kayros – vocals/synths

Stefano Ferrian – guitar

Marcello Cravini – guitar

Mauro Maraldo – drums

Marco Mastrobuono – guest bass

More info:

Related posts

syk Sign to Season of Mist Ahead of New Album


syk – Decibel Magazine Premieres ‘The Hollow Mother’ Video; “Pyramiden” Full-Length On TODAY On Housecore Records/Nuclear Blast!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More