NEEDLESS – The Cosmic Cauldron

As I read almost exclusively good reviews on the first album of the Hungarian band Needless, I undertook curiously to the listening of their second release “The Cosmic Cauldron”. Theoretically, the name of the game is black/death/thrash metal, which – broadly speaking – corresponds to the reality. They draw from almost all subgenres, attempting to pour everything into a diversified composition. Guitar craftmanship can be considered as one of the outstanding elements, in which we may find tiny delicacies between the massive riffs. Vocals turned out to be strong, too – I love this certain type of shifting aggressivity inside. As we are dealing with exactingly composed songs, it would be impossible to pick a quarrel with the music. However, the overall picture became somewhat chaotic. By including too many distinct elements into the compositions, they derogate the otherwise excellent tracks.

Even though, this is an album of quality from the superior segment of the Hungarian underground.


1. Warvoid A.D.
2. Astrogate the Spectral Lane	
3. The Predation
4. Mournful Heavens
5. The Cosmic Cauldron
6. Odium
7. The Prism Fortress
8. Chrononaut
9. Planet Oblivion
10. Transgalactic

Related posts

NEEDLESS release new album “The Cosmic Cauldron” in January


NEEDLESS release single/video “The Cosmic Cauldron”


NEEDLESS signs to UPRISING! Records


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More