ENTIERRO Releases Official Video for “El Camazotz”


Heavy Metal band ENTIERRO has released the official video for “El Camazotz,” the title track from the EP released last year. The video was directed by EM Schrader.

On June 18, 2021 ENTIERRO released the long awaited follow-up to their 2018 self-titled full-length. Entitled El Camazotz, after the Mayan bat god associated with night, death and sacrifice, the five-song EP represents a new chapter in the story of the band.


“Honest and heavy U.S. metal. Excellent.” (9/10)
– Metal Temple

“This band hits hard and fast. Well done!” (5/5)
– Metal Epidemic

“Entierro are an asset to the New England scene – keeping the old metal guard sound alive and hopefully turning on a new generation to bands that can be creative in this genre today.” (9/10)
– Dead Rhetoric

“Groovy and chunky riffs intersect nicely with dual-lead heavy metal, and catchy arrangement. All around, it recalls the earliest Fates Warning material slapped against Trouble’s stoner era, and does it with a certain skill and grace that speaks of the long experience of the members.”
– Invisible Oranges

“Entierro clearly put thought into its construction, and in following 2018’s self-titled full-length, the band’s wholehearted embrace of their roots filters smoothly through their own craft methodology and only suits them.”
– The Obelisk

“Awesome stuff and a true tribute to heavy metal. Four tracks of riff-heavy, groove-infused, head-banging good times.”
– Games, Brrraaains & A Head-Banging Life

“Each song has its own personality and its own identity, but together they make an EP that is as strong and lasting as any full length.” (4.5/5)
– Metal-Rules

“Powerful melodic heavy metal that makes fan hearts beat faster!”
– FFM-Rock

“The majority of the material is located in the neat, powerfully executed mid-tempo. Victor and his colleague Chris Begnal also always know how to provide variety with two-part guitar passages and make no secret of corresponding sources of inspiration such as Murray / Smith or Tipton / Downing.”

“An easy, enjoyable listen that lives and dies by its endless parade of satisfying, old-school riffing.”
– Worship Metal

“Oozing a rough ‘n’ rowdy spirit that recalls Judas Priest’s more quintessentially metal moments alongside the upfront aggression of Armored Saint.”
– Sleeping Village Reviews

“The sort of album that screams throwback more so than anything else, though the original songs do a good job of mixing things up rather than dwelling on just one aspect of the early 80s.”
– Sonic Perspectives

“The musicianship and songwriting nous on display mean that this EP will almost certainly be a worthwhile listen for any fan of 80s metal.”
– Noizze

“A great EP that leaves you wanting more.”
– El Lado Oscuro

Recorded just prior to the pandemic at Studio Wormwood in Northeastern Connecticut under the engineering mastery of Dave Kaminsky, the songs of El Camazotz harken back to the NWOBHM and traditional heavy metal bands that they grew up listening to. 

This also marks the first truly collaborative effort with former Fates Warning guitarist Victor Arduini, who had joined the band just prior to the recording of their 2018 full length. On this release, he was an integral part of the writing process working alongside vocalist/bassist Christopher Beaudette (Jasta, NightBitch,) drummer Dave Parmelee (One Master) and second guitarist Chris Begnal making it a much more definitive presentation of their creative vision. Together, ENTIERRO is solidifying their ability to create songs that manifest the crushing sound they hope metalheads can continually find inspiration in.

Track Listing

  1. The Penance
  2. The Tower
  3. The Past
  4. El Camazotz
  5. Call for the Priest [Judas Priest cover]

Album Credits:

Mixed and Engineered by Dave Kaminsky at Wormwood Studios, Mansfield, CT

All songs by Entierro, except “Call For the Priest” written by R. Halford, G. Tipton and K. Downing

Album Artwork by Maxwell Aston Art

Mastered by Nick Zampiello of New Alliance East Mastering


Christopher Taylor Beaudette – Lead Vocals/Bass
Victor Arduini – Guitar
Chris Begnal – Guitar
Dave Parmelee – Drums

Related posts

U.S. Trad-Metal Force ENTIERRO Release Lyric Video for “Walk Away”


U.S. Trad-Metal Stalwarts ENTIERRO to Release ‘The Gates of Hell’ in October


ENTIERRO Premieres Pre-Release Stream of ‘El Camazotz’ EP


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More