IN APHELION stream EDGED CIRCLE debut album at Black Metal Promotion – features members of NECROPHOBIC

[photos by jr_woodsonart]

Today, black/death titans In Aphelion stream the entirety of their highly anticipated debut album, Moribund, at the Black Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Set for international release on March 11th via Edged Circle Productions, hear In Aphelion‘s Moribund in its entirety exclusively HERE

A veritable treasure trove of Swedish black/death royalty, In Aphelion are a power-trio originally formed in 2020 by longtime Necrophobic guitarist Sebastian Ramstedt on vocals, guitar, and bass with prolific drummer Marco Prij. In 2021, with the advent of their debut demo, fellow Necrophobic guitarist Johan Bergebäck joined, making the unholy trinity complete. An impossibly auspicious first start, In Aphelion‘s first demo – despite being limited to a mere 50 copies – landed the band a deal with Edged Circle, first resulting in the teaser-length EP Luciferian Age and now a grandiose hour-long debut album, Moribund.

Indeed, while the spectre of classic blackened death metal for which Sweden is known looms large over In Aphelion, it must be stressed that these gentlemen are THE grand architects of that incredibly influential and ever-enduring sound. And not ones to rest on their laurels, with In Aphelion do both Ramstedt and Bergebäck unfurl new vistas of the imagination whilst respectably remaining within that noble tradition. Simply put, this is timeless HEAVY METAL might painted in purple-blue hues but beaming with brilliant colors beyond.


Point proof is In Aphelion‘s first full-length recording, Moribund. While two tracks – “Luciferian Age” and “Draugr” – were forecasted on the aforementioned Luciferian Age EP, Moribund majestically displays the full bounty of In Aphelion‘s seemingly infinite powers. Longer, stronger, more deathly, more blackened, more METAL, more of literally everything: Moribund is a veritable monolith of awe-inspiring songwriting and impassioned performance. Breathtaking opener “World Serpent (Devourer of Dreams)” lives up to its namesake – and then some – and duly sets the stage for all that follows for the next 59 minutes. Rise, fall, rise even higher, marching and racing and spiraling and dazzling with every step: In Aphelion exercise a wealth of texture and nuance across these ten tracks, all whilst remaining razor-sharp and as finessed as it comes. It’s not hyperbole here to suggest that In Aphelion in general and Moribund in particular handily challenge the sacred tomes of the ’90s – again, it must be reiterated that two of those architects are in this band – but the epic-yet-effervescent manner in which this timeless black/death is rendered puts both in rarefied territory, and refreshingly so. And, just like the swift & satisfying Luciferian AgeMoribund is likewise given a grippingly powerful mix & mastering by Unleashed’s Frederik Folkare.

Luciferian Age teased with its truncated makeup, but now Moribund grandly declares the arrival of In Aphelion as kings!

Hear all of it for yourself exclusively HERE, courtesy of the Black Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Also see & hear the previously revealed video for “Requiem” HERE, courtesy of Black Metal Promotion, as well as the previously revealed video for “World Serpent (Devourer of Dreams)” HERE, courtesy of Preorder info can be found HERE at Edged Circle‘s Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

IN APHELION_cover211216

Tracklisting for In Aphelion’s Moribund
1. World Serpent (Devourer of Dreams)
2. Draugr
3. Let the Beast Run Wild
4. Luciferian Age
5. This Night Seems Endless
6. He Who Saw the Abyss
7. Moribund
8. The Origin
9. Sorrow, Fire & Hate
10. Requiem

Sebastian Ramstedt – vocals & lead guitars
Johan Bergebäck – rhythm guitars
Marco Prij – drums


Related posts

IN APHELION Release 1st Single, “When All Stellar Light Is Lost”


IN APHELION announce “Reaperdawn”


IN APHELION premiere new video at “Decibel” magazine’s website – features members of NECROPHOBIC


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More