TEMPLE OF VOID announce Relapse debut Summoning The Slayer out June 3

TEMPLE OF VOID_cover220407

Cave dwellers TEMPLE OF VOID finally return from the inky abyss on their highly anticipated new album, Summoning the Slayer, out June 3 on Relapse Records. 

Watch the “Deathtouch” music video, directed by The C.O.I.N.AT THIS LOCATION.

Summoning The Slayer is out June 3 on LP/CD/CS/Digital. Physical pre-order via are available HERE. Digital Downloads/Streaming HERE.

The critically acclaimed, Michigan-based quintet—featuring Alex Awn (guitars), Don Durr (guitars), Mike Erdody (vocals), Jason Pearce (drums), and Brent Satterly (bass)—hunkered down during the last two years, expanding upon their brand of fusty, artfully brutish death-doom with equal parts process and imagination. The outcome is an album that feels massive yet sepulchral, exploratory yet distinguishable—as if crafted deep below and inspired by all the things (mentally and physically) that come with their subterranean endeavor. Summoning the Slayer creepily evolves TEMPLE OF VOID.

TEMPLE OF VOID “Deathtouch” video

Produced, mixed, and mastered by Arthur Rizk (Power Trip, Sumerlands, Candy and more,) Summoning the Slayer pairs long-time influences and a bevy of non-metal vectors into hulking columns of heavy and desolation. Focus tracks “Deathtouch,” “Hex, Curse, & Conjuration” and “The Transcending Horror” showcases TEMPLE OF VOID’s death-doom at its heights and their massive, crushing lows. But the group’s fourth album is more than that. The album’s capper, “Dissolution,” is one example of the Detroiters stretching out, the song’s ‘70s rock/singer-songwriter motifs hitting The Moody Blues and Nick Drake hard. Lyrically, Summoning the Slayer eschews commonplace horror tropes with a deeper, broader psychological discussion of the self. TEMPLE OF VOID’s ultimate death-doom metal journey is now complete.


Summoning The Slayer tracklist:

1. Behind The Eye
2. Deathtouch
3. Engulfed
4. A Sequence of Rot
5. Hex, Curse, & Conjuration
6. The Transcending Horror
7. Dissolution

Michael Erdody – Vocals
Don Durr – Guitar
Jason Pearce – Drums
Alex Awn  – Guitar
Brent Satterly –Bass


Related posts

CHAOS RECORDS to release collection from TEMPLE OF VOID


TEMPLE OF VOID sign to Relapse Records


TEMPLE OF VOID stream new SHADOW KINGDOM album at “Kerrang!” magazine’s website


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More