KNOLL announce new album, ‘Metempiric’, and video premiere for first track

Photo credit: Jake Murnane

KNOLL have today announced details of their second full length album, titled Metempiric. The first track, Felled Plume, from the upcoming release is being premiered via Decibel magazine with any accompanying video by Frank Huang. Metempiric will be released on June 24, pre-orders are available now.

Of the new release, KNOLL’s Jamie Eubanks commented: “Felled Plume is equal parts a lament of epiphany and a lapse in the illusion of guidance. It is the first piece released off of Metempiric and a continuation of visual woes with our friend Frank Huang.”

KNOLL hit upon a winning formula with debut album, Interstice, that they were keen to repeat with Metempiric: recording took place with Andy Nelson at Bricktop Recordings, in Chicago, IL, the album was then mixed by Kurt Ballou and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege, whilst artwork was handled by Ethan McCarthy. The level of trust and confidence in those they had enlisted to work on Metempiric allowed them the freedom to push their creative boundaries even further than before.

Lyrically, the themes on the record are as complex and claustrophobic as before. The thirteen songs on the album are an abstraction of consciousness and time, using metaphor to delve deeper into the human condition. Along the way they cover class warfare and human atrocities through a tangle of words that encapsulate an inescapable sense of existential dread. 

Eschewing label interest in favour of the DIY route, KNOLL will release Metempiric themselves this summer.  Stating the personal nature of their music and retaining complete ownership and control as being cornerstones of their decision, KNOLL are embracing the hard work and hands-on nature of the task ahead of them. These six college-age musicians stand on the precipice of adulthood with the world at their feet; Metempiric is merely the next chapter in what looks set to be an ongoing tale.


Metempiric track list

1. Clepsydra
2. Felled Plume
3. Throe Of Upheaval
4. Burgeoning Pillars
5. Dislimned
6. Gild Of Blotted Lucre
7. Tether And Swine
8. Of Troth To Atom
9. Marred Alb
10. Flux Of Knowing
11. The Dwelt Withe
12. Whelm
13. Tome

Metempiric is available on CD, cassette, vinyl and digitally.Pre-orders are available now.

James Eubanks – Vocals/Power Electronics
Evan Kubick – Guitars
Lukas Quartermaine – Bass
Ryan Cook – Guitars
Jack Anderson – Drums
Drew Miller – Guitars

Related posts

KNOLL releases final single before ‘Metempiric’ album release


KNOLL releases new track from upcoming album, ‘Metempiric’


KNOLL announce split with Autolith; new track out now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More