Norwegian death metal band DEFECT DESIGNER with two DISKORD members unveil details on Transcending Obscurity release

Artwork by Ian Miller (Ulthar)

Norwegian death metal band Diskord released one of the best albums of the year in 2021, and two of their members play in Defect Designer as well. Where the music goes, it’s unhinged in its own way, is more influenced by grindcore, and has a free-flowing quality to it. And it’s sufficiently wild, if that’s what you’re expecting here. Listen to two of their tracks on Bandcamp while the promo reaches you via Haulix. This one is not to be missed. 


Defect Designer (Norway) – Neanderthal (Death Metal​/​Grindcore)

Genre – Death Metal​/​Grindcore
Release Date – July 8th, 2022
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records
For fans of – Atvm, Diskord, Contrastic, Brutal Truth, Cerebral Turbulency, Phobia, Extreme Noise Terror

In collusion with members of Diskord, Defect Designer from Norway are reinterpreting death metal their own way, adding grind influences and a maniacal fervour to it all. With the free-spirited, unhinged approach bordering on seeming frivolous, there is in fact a method to this madness; everything is meticulously thought out and written for maximum effectiveness. There is a reason this release feels like an unabated rush from start to finish, with the momentum only snowballing as it progresses. The performances are top notch, as can be expected when there are multiple members of the calibre of Diskord on this record. It’s only appropriate then that their skills are used to channel a different kind of sound while retaining the ingenuity. Even though this wild, entertaining and multi-faceted album ends sooner than desired, it only compels the listener to vividly experience it over and over again and discover strange new things, such as in their highly intricate Ian Miller artwork, and look forward to a ton of material shaping up from this criminally overlooked death metal band.

Line up –
Eyvind W. Axelsen (Diskord) – slapping, sliding and proofreading
Simen Kandola – fast and furious beating
Dmitry Sukhinin (Diskord) – writing notes, plucking strings and roaring
Martin Storm-Olsen – plucking strings, additional shouting, occasional karaoke, proofreading, electrical sound recording, mouse clicking, dog provisioning

Track list –
1. Neanderthal 
2. Wrinkles 
3. Trolls 
4. Luddites 
5. Vlad 
6. Pigsty 
7. Time, Forward 

Defect Designer Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Site

Transcending Obscurity Official YouTube Channel

Transcending Obscurity Facebook

Transcending Obscurity Instagram

Defect Designer Facebook

Transcending Obscurity US Store

Transcending Obscurity Europe Store

Related posts

Fascinating new DEFECT DESIGNER release is now streaming in full!


Prog death band DEFECT DESIGNER ft. DISKORD member unveil new song via No Clean Singing


Death metal band DEFECT DESIGNER ft. DISKORD member return with a wildly exciting full length


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More