Denmark’s Svartsot have been active in the folk metal scene for quite some time, and  „Kumlb” is their fifth release in a row. I’ve always considered them as second liners and the 12 songs of the new album won’t change that. There are no particular problems with the songs: they bring all the elements necessary for the style – and thereby the full repertoire of familiar patterns. The speed remains rather in the mid-range throughout the whole material, and the folk elements are not spared.

There’s everything here from whistle, drum to reed fiddle – just the really outstanding items are missing.

You can listen to it at a festival, of course, and there’s nothing wrong with that, but I need more to get really enthusiastic.


1. Den Hoboeken Dans
2. Nu Stander Landen I Våde
3. Carmen Vernale
4. Ebbe Skammelsøn
5. Kragevisen
6. Villemand
7. Liden Kirsten
8. Rottefængeren
9. Den Store Stygge Stimand
10. Drømte Mig En Drøm
11. Ramund
12. De To Ravne

Related posts

SVARTSOT – Danish folk metallers reveal video for new single “Drømte Mig En Drøm”


SVARTSOT release new album “Kumbl” in February


SVARTSOT signs to Mighty Music, new album coming in 2022


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More