YATRA premiere new single and visualizer for ‘Death Cantation’

Photographer credit: Shane Gardner

Maryland’s YATRA yesterday premiered their new single, Death Cantation, and its accompanying visualizer via DecibelDeath Cantation is the second single to be taken from the band’s upcoming fourth full-length, Born into Chaos, set for release on June 10. The new track further showcases the trio’s bold evolution away from their doom and sludge origins into brutish death metal.


Death Cantation will be available on all streaming platforms on Friday, April 29.
Born into Chaos is available to pre-order here.

Speaking on the premiere, Dana Helmuth (guitar / vocals) comments: “Death Cantation is a battle thrash seek and destroy mission into a burning Gygaxian mindscape of blood and fire. This was the last song written before we recorded Born into Chaos and it’s become one of our favorites in the live set.”

Written during the pandemic, Born into Chaos combines the uncertainty of the times and the desire to push forward at all costs. The group often jammed, while Helmuth constantly wrote, always looking to up his game. Riffs were hammered out via voice recorder and exchanged with drummer Lafferty and bassist Geisbert to keep the collaboration between members alive and productive. All eight songs were birthed frenzied and combative. Clearly, YATRA weren’t ready to capitulate or sacrifice re-discovered instinct.

Born into Chaos was recorded by YATRA, engineered by Noel Mueller (Foehammer, Myopic) at Tiny Castle Recording in Towson, Maryland. Mueller also handled the mix. The band then onboarded Brad Boatright (Sleep, Monolord) at Audiosiege in Portland, Oregon, to master. The team’s primary goal was to give YATRA heft, grit, and power on new songs like Born into ChaosTerrorizer and Tormentation. Truly, from the first to the last spin, there’s no escape from YATRA’s feral charge on Born into Chaos.

Like their 2020 full length, All is LostYATRA’s Born into Chaos will come adorned in a Paolo Girardi (Power Trip, Black Breath) while also revealing a revamped logo by renowned artist Mark Riddick (Nunslaughter, Revel in Flesh). Draped in straightforward yet probing lyrics and supported by a killer horror-inspired video for Terminate by the SwordBorn into Chaos exposes the bone of YATRA’s complete transformation. The group’s new album will see them chart new courses for North America and Europe in 2022 and 2023.


Born into Chaos tracklist:

  1. Death Cantation
  2. Born into Chaos
  3. Wrath of the Warmaster
  4. Terminate by the Sword
  5. Reign of Terror
  6. Terrorizer
  7. Omens of Fire
  8. Tormentation

Sean Lafferty – drums 
Maria Geisbert – Bass 
Dana Helmuth – Guitar/Vocals

Related posts

YATRA premiere new single and visualizer for ‘Reign of Terror’


YATRA announce new album, ‘Born Into Chaos’; Lead single and music video, ‘Terminate by the Sword’, out now


YATRA sign to Prosthetic Records


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More