MOLDER announce new album, ‘Engrossed in Decay’, title track premiering now

Photographer credit: Ashley Mau

Chicago, IL upstarts MOLDER crawled out of the boneyard with renewed vengeance yesterday, announcing their sophomore album Engrossed in Decay – due for release via Prosthetic Records on July 15. Alongside the album announcement, MOLDER premiered the title tracks accompanying visualizer via Invisible Oranges.


Stream Engrossed in Decay via Apple Music | TIDAL | Deezer | Bandcamp | Spotify
Pre-order Engrossed in Decay here.


Speaking on the album announcement and track premiere Aaren Pantke (vocals / guitar) comments:  “We’re absolutely stoked to finally release our first offering via Prosthetic Records. That said, we felt Engrossed In Decay was just as appropriate of a song, if any, to showcase first.

“We chose Engrossed In Decay as the title track of the new record as it totally encompasses our sound, past and present. It has all the elements of MOLDER; doom, death, thrash, and punk. Clocking in at just above 4 minutes, this ripper is chock full of death-obsessed lyrical content, bass breaks, pounding drums, and nasty riffs… what more could ya ask for?”

Conceptually, Engrossed in Decay collects the sonic aesthetics of the in-song samples, death-obsessed lyrics, and colorful mucus and blood themes into a cohesively gross package. This is the type of gift found in medical waste repositories or in the aftermath of a kitchen knife rampage. One look at the cover illustrated by Lucas Korte (Blood Incantation, Tomb Mold), and MOLDER’s sordid intentions are immediately evident. This is blood-curdling, gore-hurling death metal from graves licentiously disturbed.

MOLDER took Engrossed in Decay to Studio Novy, where they hooked up with Cheyenne Brandt (Vanished Cadavers, and Chicago Metal Hell Vol 2) again to engineer and mix. Cianide’s Scott Carroll joined the sessions as steward, ensuring that the death metal performed by MOLDER and captured by Brandt sounded absolutely abhorrent and fetidly fresh. Two weekends were spent at Studio Novy to get Engrossed in Decay firmly out of the ground. The final mix went to Philadelphia-based mastering ace Arthur Rizk (Creeping Death, Temple of Void). The result is an engrossing experience, nasty to the touch yet riveting like a chainsaw battle. Glutinous RemainsChemically DissolvedHuff the Stench, and the title track are prime examples of MOLDER’s choicest, meatiest cuts.

The next phase of MOLDER’s depraved death metal domination will commence after Engrossed in Decay is unleashed upon metaldom. Until then, they’ll fester wildly in and around Chicago, with the rest of North America suffering perversely with a full-scale bloodbath later in 2022.

You’ve been warned! MOLDER are coming for you, their stomach-churning, mortifying corpses in full-on attack mode. 

Engrossed in Decay tracklist:

1. Glutinous Remains
2. Engrossed in Decay
3. Relentless Pestilence
4. Chemically Dissolved
5. Disinhumed Carcass Revived
6. Huff the Stench
7. Unsubstantial Hallucinations
8. Ghastly Mutations
9. Decomposed Embryos
10. Cask of Maggots

Upcoming MOLDER shows:

May 1 – Cobra  Lounge w/ Nucleus, Wraith, and Cryptum
June 4 – Reggies w/ Morta Skuld, Oxygen Destroyer, and more

Related posts

MOLDER, Engrossed in Decay, premiering in full


MOLDER share new single and music video, ‘Relentless Pestilence’


MOLDER premiere new single and visualizer, ‘Decomposed Embryos’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More